The Works of Charles Babbage

The Works of Charles Babbage


By (author) Charles Babbage, Volume editor Martin Campbell-Kelly

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks
  • Publisher: Pickering & Chatto (Publishers) Ltd
  • Format: Hardback | 2700 pages
  • Dimensions: 156mm x 234mm
  • Publication date: 1 March 1989
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1851960058
  • ISBN 13: 9781851960057
  • Illustrations note: 15 plates, diagrams, graphs, line drawings, portrait, bibliography, in

Product description

A set of 11 volumes which contains all the known works of Charles Babbage, who has been described as the "pioneer of the computer". His mathematical, scientific and engineering work is highly significant for its original approach to problem-solving and is reset for today's reader.

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Editorial board Martin Campbell-Kelly is Lecturer in Computer Science, University of Warwick and editor-in-chief of the Charles Babbage Institute series for the history of computing I Bernard Cohen, Emeritus Professor of the History of Science, Harvard University Maxine Berg, Lecturer in Economic History, University of Warwick Allan Bromley, Senior Lecturer in Computer Science, University of Sydney and sometime Kensington Science Museum Research Fellow J M Dubbey, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Malawi

Review quote

'a must for any self-respecting library aiming to serve the ineterests of science and technology.' New Scientist 'A must for every university library.' The Guardian 'a fine achievement' Times Literary Supplement

Table of contents

Volume 1: Introduction, mathematical papers, 18 papers. Volumes 2 and 3: Calculating machines and table making, introduction and 26 papers; appendix - 15 plates from "Babbage's Calculating Engines" (1889). Volumes 4 and 5: Scientific and miscellaneous papers; 33 papers. Volume 6: "A Comparative View of the Various Institutions for the Assurance of Lives" (1826). Volume 7: "Reflections on the Decline of Science" (1830). Volume 8: "On the Economy of Machinery and Manufacturers", fourth edition (1835). Volume 9: "The Ninth Bridgewater Treatise", second edition (1838). Volume 10: The Exposition of 1851, second edition (1851); appendix - Weld's "History of the Royal Society", chapter 11 with de Morgan's review. Volume 11: "Passages from the Life of a Philosopher" (1864); bibliography of works cited in the text.