• Words of Radiance See large image

    Words of Radiance (Stormlight Archive) (Hardback) By (author) Brandon Sanderson

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $27.13 - Save $1.85 (6%) - RRP $28.98 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $30.53
    CD-Audio $56.34

    DescriptionBrandon Sanderson's The Stormlight Archive sequence began in 2010 with the "New York Times "bestseller "The Way of Kings." Now, the eagerly anticipated "Words of Radiance" continues the epic story and answers many of your questions. Six years ago, the Assassin in White, a hireling of the inscrutable Parshendi, assassinated the Alethi king on the very night a treaty between men and Parshendi was being celebrated. So began the Vengeance Pact among the highprinces of Alethkar and the War of Reckoning against the Parshendi. Now the Assassin is active again, murdering rulers all over the world of Roshar, using his baffling powers to thwart every bodyguard and elude all pursuers. Among his prime targets is Highprince Dalinar, widely considered the power behind the Alethi throne. His leading role in the war would seem reason enough, but the Assassin's master has much deeper motives. Expected by his enemies to die the miserable death of a military slave, Kaladin survived to be given command of the royal bodyguards, a controversial first for a low-status "darkeyes." Now he must protect the king and Dalinar from every common peril as well as the distinctly uncommon threat of the Assassin, all while secretly struggling to master remarkable new powers that are somehow linked to his honorspren, Syl. Brilliant but troubled Shallan strives along a parallel path. Despite being broken in ways she refuses to acknowledge, she bears a terrible burden: to somehow prevent the return of the legendary Voidbringers and the civilization-ending Desolation that will follow. The secrets she needs can be found at the Shattered Plains, but just arriving there proves more difficult than she could have imagined. Meanwhile, at the heart of the Shattered Plains, the Parshendi are making an epochal decision. Hard pressed by years of Alethi attacks, their numbers ever shrinking, they are convinced by their war leader, Eshonai, to risk everything on a desperate gamble with the very supernatural forces they once fled. The possible consequences for Parshendi and humans alike, indeed, for Roshar itself, are as dangerous as they are incalculable. The doors of the Stormlight Archive first opened to us with "The Way of Kings." Read that book - now available in all formats - and then "Words of Radiance," and you can be part of the adventure every dazzling step of the way.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Words of Radiance

    Title
    Words of Radiance
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Brandon Sanderson
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 1087
    Width: 170 mm
    Height: 239 mm
    Thickness: 89 mm
    Weight: 1,293 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780765326362
    ISBN 10: 0765326361
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    BIC E4L: FAN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.2
    BIC subject category V2: FM
    B&T Book Type: FI
    DC22: FIC
    DC21: 813.6
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading: ,
    Libri: AMER3750
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11300
    Ingram Subject Code: FA
    B&T General Subject: 350
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 66
    B&T Modifier: Continuations: 02
    DC22: 813/.6
    Libri: ENGM1050
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: P26305000
    BISAC V2.8: FIC009020
    LC classification: PS3619.A533 W67 2014
    Illustrations note
    black & white illustrations, maps
    Publisher
    Tor Books
    Imprint name
    Tor Books
    Publication date
    04 March 2014
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    BRANDON SANDERSON grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. In addition to completing Robert Jordan's The Wheel of Time(R), he is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn trilogy, "Warbreaker," "The""Alloy of Law," "The Way of Kings," "Rithmatist," and "Steelheart." He won the 2013 Hugo Award for "The Emperor's Soul," a novella set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, "Elantris."
    Review quote
    Praise for "The Way of Kings" "I "loved "this book. What else is there to say?" --Patrick Rothfuss, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Name of the Wind" "This is a great choice for fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Brooks." --"Voice of Youth Advocates"" ""The best part...is the compelling, complex story of Dalinar, Kaladin, and Shallan as they struggle though emotional, physical, and moral challenges. Fans and lovers of epic fantasy...will eagerly await the next volume." --"Library Journal"