The Wizard Heir

The Wizard Heir

Book rating: 04 Paperback Heir Chronicles

By (author) Cinda Williams Chima

$10.17

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Hyperion Books for Children
  • Format: Paperback | 458 pages
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 208mm x 28mm | 499g
  • Publication date: 10 June 2008
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 1423104889
  • ISBN 13: 9781423104889
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Sales rank: 250,778

Product description

Sixteen-year-old Seph McCauley has spent the past three years getting kicked out of one exclusive private school after another. And it's not his attitude that's the problem. It's the trail of magical accidents-lately, disasters-that follow in his wake. Seph is a wizard, orphaned and untrained--and his powers are escalating out of control. After causing a tragic fire at an after-hours party, Seph is sent to the Havens, a secluded boys' school on the coast of Maine. At first, it seems like the answer to his prayers. Gregory Leicester, the headmaster, promises to train Seph in magic and initiate him into his mysterious order of wizards. But Seph's enthusiasm dampens when he learns that training comes at a steep cost, and that Leicester plans to use his students' powers to serve his own dangerous agenda. In this companion novel to the exciting fantasy "The Warrior Heir," everyone's got a secret to keep: Jason Haley, a fellow student who's been warned to keep away from Seph; the enchanter Linda Downey, who knew his parents; the rogue wizard Leander Hastings, and the warriors Jack Swift and Ellen Stephenson. This wizard war is one that Seph may not have the strength to survive.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Cinda Williams Chima made her debut as a young adult author with The Warrior Heir. Cinda is a graduate of the University of Akron, where she now teaches. A freelance writer, she has published more than 100 reviews, feature articles, and essays in local and national media. Her nutrition column appears regularly in the Taste section of the "Plain Dealer." Chima lives in Ohio with her husband and two sons.

Customer reviews

By TeensReadToo 03 Oct 2010 5

Sixteen-year-old Seph (Joseph) McCauley is a double orphan. His parents died in a tragic accident so long ago that he doesn't remember them. (At least that's what the paperwork says; Seph's pretty sure it's fake.) Not too long ago he lost Genevieve, the woman who raised him and cared for him. Since then he's been shipped from town to town, from school to school. The only thing that stays the same is the reason he keeps having to leave. Weird things happen around Seph--birds attacking, explosions, fires--and the last time, somebody died. Seph knows that if he could find someone to train him, he could control, or harness, or even use his magic. If it doesn't happen soon, he might just self-destruct. Literally.

His latest prison is an all-boys school in the middle of nowhere on the coast of Maine. Seph expected that the other students might be a bit different from what he's used to, but these kids are beyond weird. And the teachers, well, that's a whole other thing. Wonder of all wonders, the headmaster, Gregory Leicester, is a wizard, and wants to train Seph! It seems his prayers have been answered. But something still feels - off. The way the students behave towards the headmaster, the way the other teachers treat him, the "research students" in the special dorm... Leicester seems to want more than Seph is willing to give. A battle of wills, of frightening proportion, begins. The more Leicester wants him to do something, the less Seph is willing to give in. The only answer is escape or death. But what if escape is just the beginning?

Fun, exciting, non-stop reading. I didn't let it out of my sight until I found the time to finish it. I think I may have a crush on Seph. What can I say; I like the dark, edgy guys.

There is another book written by the author that fits in the timeline before this, called THE WARRIOR HEIR. That book is not at all necessary to read first. I haven't read it yet, and I really liked this book. Although you can bet I plan on devouring that one shortly! For readers of THE WARRIOR HEIR, I believe the main character is Jack, and rest assured he plays a big part in the second half of this book. Which gives me hope that Seph might turn up again.

By Scoot 31 Aug 2010 4

I enjoyed this book even more than the first in the series (The Warrior Heir). The Wizard Heir was well written and I never felt the story was too choppy or slow. I really liked Seph and enjoyed following him as he learned more about who he was and how to use his magical abilities. The emotions felt realistic and believable as Seph is 'run though the wringer' across the storyline. I liked the big twist about Seph's life and thought it built well upon the first novel. Also, it was great getting to return to characters from the first novel as they interact with newly introduced ones in this novel. The book is entertaining, without being too lighthearted - Cinda definitely doesn't hold back the danger from characters we love. The storyline is fast paced and has plenty of action; I didn't want to put the book down! The Wizard Heir is a great story and I look forward to reading the third in this series.

Review quote

In this companion to The Warrior Heir (Hyperion, 2006), orphaned Seph, 16, is an untrained wizard who can fling fire from his fingertips. After one of his many accidental fires kills a friend, he's sent to a secluded boys' school in Maine. The headmaster, Dr. Leicester, a powerful wizard, offers to train him. Initially, Seph agrees but then changes his mind after he's nearly forced to participate in an initiation where he's made to swear an oath to Leicester and allow him to link Seph's power to his. For refusing, Leicester tortures Seph with hallucinatory dreams that nearly drive him insane. When he finally finds a way to communicate with the outside world, Linda Downey, an enchanter, rescues him and takes him to the town of Trinity, OH, a sanctuary for wizards and other members of magical guilds. There, he meets many of the characters who appeared in the first book, including Jack Swift, Ellen Stephenson, and Leander Hastings, as well as a new character, Madison, who can draw power from wizards. Seph and his new friends must find a way to stop an impending war between the two great wizard houses. This exciting page-turner is darker than The Warrior Heir and, because of its depiction of Leicester's love of inflicting pain and frequent violence, is more appropriate for older readers. SLJ"