• Wilson

    Wilson (CD-Audio) By (author) A Scott Berg, Read by Jeremy Bobb

    $35.99 - Save $4.01 10% off - RRP $40.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Hardback $32.16
    Paperback $16.84

    DescriptionIn the tradition of "Truman, John Adams," and "Team of Rivals," the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning biographer of Charles Lindbergh, Maxwell Perkins, and Samuel Goldwyn sheds new light on a president and his presidency in a way that redefines our understanding of a tide-turning historical moment. One hundred years after his inauguration, Woodrow Wilson still stands as one of the most influential figures of the twentieth century, and one of the most enigmatic. And now, after more than a decade of research and writing, Pulitzer Prize-winning author A. Scott Berg has completed "Wilson"--the most personal and penetrating biography ever written about the twenty-eighth President. In addition to the hundreds of thousands of documents in the Wilson Archives, Berg was the first biographer to gain access to two recently discovered caches of papers belonging to those close to Wilson. From this material, Berg was able to add countless details--even several unknown events--that fill in missing pieces of Wilson's character and cast new light on his entire life. From the scholar-President who ushered the country through its first great world war to the man of intense passion and turbulence, from the idealist determined to make the world "safe for democracy" to the stroke-crippled leader whose incapacity and the subterfuges around it were among the century's greatest secrets, the result is an intimate portrait written with a particularly contemporary point of view--a book at once magisterial and deeply emotional about the whole of Wilson's life, accomplishments, and failings. This is not just Wilson the icon--but Wilson the man.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Wilson

    Title
    Wilson
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) A Scott Berg, Read by Jeremy Bobb
    Physical properties
    Format: CD-Audio
    Width: 136 mm
    Height: 190 mm
    Thickness: 16 mm
    Weight: 120 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781442365896
    ISBN 10: 1442365897
    Classifications

    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: BIO
    BIC subject category V2: BGH
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T4.2
    B&T Merchandise Category: AUD
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T General Subject: 170
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 03
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    DC22: B
    BISAC V2.8: BIO011000
    Ingram Theme: CHRN/LATE18
    BIC subject category V2: JPHL
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Theme: CHRN/ERLY20
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 51600
    B&T Approval Code: A23306400
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Subject Code: JA
    Libri: I-JA
    B&T Approval Code: A42302520, A16370000
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 973.91/3092
    BISAC V2.8: HIS036060
    Thema V1.0: JPHL, DNBH
    LC classification: E767 .B47 2013D
    Edition
    Unabridged
    Edition statement
    Unabridged
    Publisher
    SIMON & SCHUSTER AUDIO
    Imprint name
    SIMON & SCHUSTER AUDIO
    Publication date
    10 September 2013