The Watermelon Seed

The Watermelon Seed

By (author) , Illustrated by


You save US$4.21

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

show more
  • Hardback | 40 pages
  • 205.74 x 256.54 x 10.16mm | 340.19g
  • Disney-Hyperion
  • Disney Editions
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • colour illustrations
  • 1423171012
  • 9781423171010
  • 35,879

Other books in Animal Stories

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

Classic kid fear: accidentally swallow a watermelon seed, and the result will be a botanical version of what the zombie virus does to folks in The Walking Dead: vines will come out of your ears, and pretty soon you'll turn pink and wind up a morsel in someone else's fruit salad. In this first book from Pizzoli, the goal isn't to assuage readers' fears, but he does defuse them with help from an adorable bug-eyed crocodile who's hooked on watermelon ("Ever since I was a teeny, tiny baby crocodile, it's been my favorite. CHOMP! SLURP! CHOMP!"). Pizzoli's ostensibly simple cartooning is actually quite clever: he plays with framing and scale to gently spoof the crocodile's horror-movie imaginings ("It's growing in my guts!"), while the limited but luscious palette (watermelon pink and green, of course) and a subtly pulpy texture make each spread good enough to eat. It's an expert debut, and one with a valuable lesson, to boot: a hearty burp can brighten even the darkest hour. Ages 3 5. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (May) PW"

show more

About Greg Pizzoli

Greg Pizzoli is an author, illustrator and screen printer. When not chomping down on watermelon, he can be found in his studio or teaching at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he also received his MFA. This is his first book. Visit him at Awards 2011 52nd Communication Arts Illustration Annual: Self Promotion Category 2011 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators Illustrator Showcase Honor Award

show more