The Watermelon Seed

The Watermelon Seed

Hardback

By (author) Greg Pizzoli, Illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

USD$13.26
List price $16.99
You save $3.73 21% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Disney Editions
  • Format: Hardback | 40 pages
  • Dimensions: 206mm x 257mm x 10mm | 340g
  • Publication date: 9 July 2013
  • ISBN 10: 1423171012
  • ISBN 13: 9781423171010
  • Illustrations note: colour illustrations
  • Sales rank: 37,975

Product description

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Greg Pizzoli is an author, illustrator and screen printer. When not chomping down on watermelon, he can be found in his studio or teaching at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he also received his MFA. This is his first book. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com. Awards 2011 52nd Communication Arts Illustration Annual: Self Promotion Category 2011 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators Illustrator Showcase Honor Award

Review quote

Ah, watermelon-so juicy and sweet, and so laden with seeds that, according to the mischievous, will grow a watermelon plant in your insides. That's the dilemma faced by our little green hero, who has adored watermelon "ever since I was a tiny baby crocodile" and would eat it all day if he could. But then he makes his mistake: "I swallowed a seed! It's growing in my guts! Soon vines will come out of my ears!" A hearty burp reveals that his gastric distress had a different origin, and after a brief swearing off of the stuff he's right back on the melon again. This is simple and punchy, with accessible humor and a modest emotional conflict that youngsters will recognize. While it's not exactly debunking the myth (in fact, the visuals suggest that the croc is saved because the seed bounces back out of his mouth when he belches), there's a tacit recognition of the bogusness of the factoid in the amusing hyperbole, so nervous youngsters will find the breezy exaggeration ultimately reassuring. Even the art is watermelon-the three-colored palette (watermelon-pink, rind-green, and seed-black) against matte cream pages echoes the fruity goodness and allows for maximum eye-popping contrast. Screen printing allows for sweet intensity and subtle textures in Ben Day dots and overprinting, while the pared-down simplicity of the spreads and lively incorporation of text into the images provides graphic oomph that will reach the back row of the storytime rug. Watermelon season would be the perfect time to bring this one out-seed-spitting contest afterwards optional. DS BCCB"