The Watermelon Seed

The Watermelon Seed

Hardback

By (author) Greg Pizzoli, Illustrated by Greg Pizzoli

$14.03
List price $17.00
You save $2.97 17% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Disney Editions
  • Format: Hardback | 40 pages
  • Dimensions: 206mm x 257mm x 10mm | 340g
  • Publication date: 9 July 2013
  • ISBN 10: 1423171012
  • ISBN 13: 9781423171010
  • Illustrations note: colour illustrations
  • Sales rank: 29,911

Product description

With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Greg Pizzoli is an author, illustrator and screen printer. When not chomping down on watermelon, he can be found in his studio or teaching at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he also received his MFA. This is his first book. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com. Awards 2011 52nd Communication Arts Illustration Annual: Self Promotion Category 2011 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators Illustrator Showcase Honor Award

Review quote

Children will love this hilarious book. Crocodile has devoured watermelon since babyhood and eats it every chance he gets. One day, however, he swallows a seed. This sends him into a panic. Will it grow inside him and come out of his ears? Will he grow larger and turn pink? The poor crocodile is so worried until he burps up the seed. He vows to never eat watermelon again, but will he be able to resist? The illustrations of the reptile's fear about what might happen to him are very funny and the oversize font on those pages reinforces the emotion in the story. The artwork was created by screen print in pink, green, black, and brown. This simplicity allows readers to fully appreciate the changes in the croc's facial expressions, which artfully contribute to the humor. The story has broad appeal, making it a great first purchase. Amy Shepherd, St. Anne's Episcopal School, Middleton, DE SLJ"