The Warlock

The Warlock

Book rating: 05 Hardback Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel (Hardcover)

By (author) Michael Scott

$16.20
List price $29.84
You save $13.64 45% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $9.88
CD-Audio $39.59
  • Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell
  • Format: Hardback | 385 pages
  • Dimensions: 150mm x 211mm x 33mm | 635g
  • Publication date: 24 May 2011
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0385735332
  • ISBN 13: 9780385735339
  • Sales rank: 10,490

Product description

Read the fifth book in the "New York Times" bestselling The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, perfect for fans of "The Maze Runner" and Percy Jackson and the Olympians. The twins of prophecy have been divided--the end has begun. Alcatraz: Although their ally Dr. John Dee has been declared "utlaga," Machiavelli and Billy the Kid will follow the plans the Elders have laid before them: they will loose the monsters of Alcatraz on the city of San Francisco, thereby triggering the end of the humani race. Danu Talis: The Shadowrealm that Scatty and Joan of Arc have entered is far more dangerous than they could ever have imagined. And they haven't landed here by chance--the warriors were called for a reason. So were Saint-Germain, Palamedes, and Shakespeare. The group was summoned because they must travel back in time to Danu Talis and destroy it. For the island of Danu Talis, known in humani myth as the lost city of Atlantis, must fall if the modern world is to exist. San Francisco: The end is finally near. Josh Newman has chosen a side, and he will not stand with his sister, Slophie, or the Alchemyst, Nicholas Flamel. He will fight alongside Dee and the mysterious Virginia Dare. Unless Sophie can find her twin before the battle begins, all is lost--forever. Praise for The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series: " The Alchemyst" [STAR] "[A] A riveting fantasy...While there is plenty here to send readers rushing to their encyclopedias...those who read the book at face value will simply be caught up in the enthralling story. A fabulous read."--"School Library Journal," Starred "The Magician" [STAR] "Readers will be swept up by a plot that moves smartly along, leaving a wide trailer of destruction and well-timed revelations."--"Kirkus Reveiws," Starred "The Sorceress" "Master yarnspinner that he is, Scott expertly cranks up the suspense while keeping his now-large cast in quick motion....This page -turner promises plenty of action to come."--"Kirkus Reviews" "The Necromancer" "Unrelenting forward momentum....This book will thrill fans."--"School Library Journal"

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Michael Scott is the "New York Times" bestselling author of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, an authority on mythology and folklore, and one of Ireland's most successful authors. A master of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and folklore, Michael has been hailed by the Irish Times as "the King of Fantasy in these isles." The Warlock is the fifth book in the Nicholas Flamel series. Look for book one, The Alchemyst; book two, The Magician; book three, The Sorceress; book four, The Necromancer; and book six, The Enchantress, all available from Delacorte Press. You can follow Michael Scott on Twitter @flameauthor and visit him at DillonScott.com.

Customer reviews

By Julie-ann Blewett-Grant 25 May 2011 5

If you haven't read the 4 titles in the 'Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel' series that come prior to The Warlock, then I would advise you do! Not only are you missing a great and award winning series, but the plot is very detailed and you may find it hard to follow the fast-paced roller coaster that this book is!
My son and I have read all the prior titles and enjoyed them immensely, but this one is my favourite!
The plot twists and turns at a break-neck pace, more characters are arriving, some we've met before, some are new to us, they have one of two aims.. to either aid Nicholas and Perenelle Flamel to retrieve the Codex and save the humani from certain suffering at the hands of the Dark Elders.. or to aid Dr Dee, Niccolo Machiavelli and the Dark Elders to gain the final two missing pages of the Codex and commence the Final Summoning that will see the humani enslaved to them as they regain control over the world.
Exactly who is on which side can never be guaranteed, and some characters are questioning the strength of their conviction and loyalty to their chosen side.
Josh Newman has left the Flamels and joined with Dr Dee.. will Sophie be able to convince him to return to the Flamels and to her side.. or will she leave the Flamels and her belief that they are doing the right thing, just to be re-united with her brother?
Meanwhile, some of the Flamel's supporters are off on a mission of their own, William Shakespeare, Comte de Saint-Germain, Scathach and Palamedes are in a very strange and mysterious place, having been taken there by the equally mysterious Marethyu.. who seems to have an agenda all of his own, but which side of this epic battle is he on?
You'll need to read The Warlock to find out the answers.. and it's an exciting, spellbinding and totally absorbing read!

Review quote

Praise for The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series: A "New York Times "Bestseller A "USA Today" Bestseller An Indie Next List Selection A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age An IRA Young Adult Choice Book An IRA Children's Choice Winner [STAR] "[A] riveting fantasy . . . fabulous read." --School Library Journal, Starred [STAR] "Readers will be swept up." --Kirkus Reviews, Starred "Fans of adventure fantasies like Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson and the Olympians series will eat this one up." --VOYA "An exciting and impeccably thought-out fantasy, well-suited for those left in the lurch by Harry Potter's recent exeunt." --Booklist