• A Walk in the Woods See large image

    A Walk in the Woods (CD-Audio) By (author) Bill Bryson, Read by Bill Bryson

    $17.27 - Save $11.91 40% off - RRP $29.18 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $10.28

    DescriptionThe Appalachian Trail covers 14 states, and over 2,000 miles. It stretches along the East Coast of the United States, from Maine in the north to Georgia in the south. It is famous for being the longest continuous footpath in the world. (Compare this with the Pennine Way, which is a mere 250 miles long.) It snakes through some of the wildest and most spectacular landscapes in America, as well as through some of its most poverty-stricken and primitive backwoods areas - Redneck country - Moonshine, Lil' Abner, there's bears in them thar hills. Remember the film Deliverance? God only knows what possessed Bill Bryson, a reluctant adventurer if ever there was one, to undertake this gruelling hike. Perhaps it was just a long-held ambition to lose weight: he has lost two stone so far. As he recently wrote from the trail to his publisher: 'Speaking of vigorous exercise, boy have I just had some. Maine was a bitch. I want you to come back and walk it with me so that when you die if you go to hell you will be able to say: "Call this hell? Try walking across Maine in August."' Reared in the tradition of Mark Twain, James Thurber and S.J. Perelman, Bryson used his many years in Britain to soak up a peculiarly English sense of irony and humour and to hone a laugh-out-loud style that is uniquely, hilariously, his own.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for A Walk in the Woods

    Title
    A Walk in the Woods
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Bill Bryson, Read by Bill Bryson
    Physical properties
    Format: CD-Audio
    Width: 124 mm
    Height: 142 mm
    Thickness: 23 mm
    Weight: 194 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780552152150
    ISBN 10: 0552152153
    Classifications

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 13690
    BIC E4L: TRV
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T8.5
    BIC subject category V2: WTL
    Libri: B-100
    BISAC V2.8: TRV010000
    Edition
    Abridged
    Edition statement
    Abridged edition
    Publisher
    Random House Children's Publishers UK
    Imprint name
    Corgi Audio
    Publication date
    17 May 2004
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Bill Bryson was born in Des Moines, Iowa, in 1951. He settled in England in 1977, and lived for many years with his English wife and four children in North Yorkshire. He and his family then moved to America for a few years but have now returned to the UK. He is the bestselling author of The Lost Continent, Mother Tongue, Neither Here Nor There, Made in America, Notes From a Small Island, A Walk in the Woods, Notes From a Big Country, Down Under and, most recently, A Short History of Nearly Everything. He is also the author of the bestselling African Diary (a charity book for CARE International).
    Review quote
    "'Entertaining and often illuminating'" -- Paul Johnson Sunday Telegraph "'This is a seriously funny book'" -- Sue Townsend The Sunday Times "'Irreverent, wildly funny, crowded with anecdotes and observation'" -- Fanny Blake Ideal Home