Wait for Me!: Memoirs

Wait for Me!: Memoirs


By (author) Duchess Deborah Mitford, By (author) Charlotte Mosley

List price $20.00
You save $4.99 24% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: St Martin's Press
  • Format: Paperback | 368 pages
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 208mm x 25mm | 91g
  • Publication date: 13 September 2011
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0312610645
  • ISBN 13: 9780312610647
  • Sales rank: 125,164

Product description

A "NEW YORK TIMES" EDITORS' CHOICE Deborah Mitford, Duchess of Devonshire, is the youngest of the famously witty brood that includes the writers Jessica and Nancy. "Wait for Me! "chronicles her remarkable life, from an eccentric but happy childhood roaming the Oxfordshire countryside, to tea with her sister Unity and Adolf Hitler in 1937, to her marriage to Andrew Cavendish, the second son of the Duke of Devonshire. Written with intense warmth, charm, and perception, "Wait for Me!" is a unique portrait of an age of tumult, splendor, and change. "Touching . . . moving . . . [and] compelling as a portrait of a vanishing world" ("The Wall Street Journal").

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Deborah Vivien Freeman-Mitford Cavendish, Duchess of Devonshire, was brought up in Oxfordshire, England. In 1950 her husband, Andrew, the 11th Duke of Devonshire, inherited extensive estates in Yorkshire and Ireland as well as Chatsworth, the family seat in Derbyshire, and Deborah became chatelaine of one of England's great houses. She is the author of "Counting My Chickens" and "Home to Roost," among other books, and her letters have been collected in The "Mitfords: Letters Between Six Sisters" and "In Tearing Haste: The Correspondence of the Duchess of Devonshire and Patrick Leigh Fermor." Following her husband's death in 2004, she moved to a village on the Chatsworth estate.

Review quote

Praise for "Counting My Chickens . . . ""More entertaining than anything I could say about it." --P. J. Kavanagh, "The Spectator "Praise for "Home to Roost ""Nobody with an interest in the past century could fail to be interested in the gossip, which extends to just about everyone of interest." --Matthew Bell, "The Independent on Sunday ""Behind the wit and quips, there is something else stronger and more rigorous. She goes to the ballet at Covent Garden with the Queen Mother and notices that throughout the entire performance, the Queen Mother's back 'never once touched the chair.' That is how the Duchess is too--never a slouch, never a saggy moment, even in grief alert, attentive, observant." --Adam Nicolson, "The Spectator "Praise for "In Tearing Haste ""One of the great twentieth-century correspondences . . . Bursting with wit and conviviality." --James Purdon, "The Observer "(London) "Beguiling . . . Hugely enjoyable . . . What th