The Village Wit

The Village Wit

Paperback

By (author) Mark Beyer

USD$19.59

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Createspace
  • Format: Paperback | 522 pages
  • Dimensions: 133mm x 203mm x 30mm | 685g
  • Publication date: 20 September 2010
  • Publication City/Country: North Charleston SC
  • ISBN 10: 1453757554
  • ISBN 13: 9781453757550
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations

Product description

Noted author Mark Beyer, along with Siren & Muse Publishing, bring you a story that walks in the shadows of love's corners. American Richard Bentley settles in rural England, looking for the contented life of a bookshop keeper and some fun with the local women. His wife of fourteen years left him out of "marital boredom," so Heath-on-the-Wold seems the ideal place to get lost in work and forget the past. Bentley then hires Peggy White, a mid-forties townswoman who seems his match in sass and intellect. Soon, the rules of attraction open a new chapter in their lives. THE VILLAGE WIT follows Richard and Peggy's often humorous and sometimes dark odyssey through village life, love's fall, sexual politics, and that place where memory and modern love intersect. In the tradition of Iris Murdoch, Richard Ford, Margaret Atwood, and Norman Rush, THE VILLAGE WIT explores betrayal, loss and longing - and the importance to try to love again.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Mark Beyer has lived in the Czech Republic, Spain, France, and on a Maltese island. He has written about Gozoan fishing villages, the Bohemian capital's "storybook" lanes, bull running in Pamplona, and living at the base of Europe's highest peak, Mont Blanc. Born and raised in the Chicago area, he taught fiction writing at Columbia College Chicago, was a book editor in New York City, and worked for many years as a journalist. His writing has won awards for the short story (Columbia University Scholastic Competition, 1998) and for news features (Florida Association of News Publications, 2004). His children's literature, written for schools and libraries, has been translated into numerous languages. He now makes his home in Europe along with his wife. Currently, he is working on a new novel, and blogs at bibliogrind.com on themes of literature and book culture. Max, the blind guy grew from a recognition on a street in Prague.