Christmas Posting Dates
The Village Wit

The Village Wit

Paperback

By (author) Mark Beyer

$18.85

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Createspace
  • Format: Paperback | 522 pages
  • Dimensions: 133mm x 203mm x 30mm | 685g
  • Publication date: 20 September 2010
  • Publication City/Country: North Charleston SC
  • ISBN 10: 1453757554
  • ISBN 13: 9781453757550
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations

Product description

Noted author Mark Beyer, along with Siren & Muse Publishing, bring you a story that walks in the shadows of love's corners. American Richard Bentley settles in rural England, looking for the contented life of a bookshop keeper and some fun with the local women. His wife of fourteen years left him out of "marital boredom," so Heath-on-the-Wold seems the ideal place to get lost in work and forget the past. Bentley then hires Peggy White, a mid-forties townswoman who seems his match in sass and intellect. Soon, the rules of attraction open a new chapter in their lives. THE VILLAGE WIT follows Richard and Peggy's often humorous and sometimes dark odyssey through village life, love's fall, sexual politics, and that place where memory and modern love intersect. In the tradition of Iris Murdoch, Richard Ford, Margaret Atwood, and Norman Rush, THE VILLAGE WIT explores betrayal, loss and longing - and the importance to try to love again.

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

I enjoy books that take me into the lives of characters whom I might want to have been, or never in my dreams want to walk in their shoes. These are the kinds of stories I write, as well. Story to me is all about the characters, and I want to read authors who take care to bring their characters alive! Hello, my name is Mark Beyer. I write novels. Good ones. Readers shall discover that my stories track the nuances of experience. People interested in reading strong fiction will quickly notice a common purpose among its writers: we work to understand the character of men and women in contemporary society. My novels explore the nexus between art and life, relationships and betrayal, work and diversion. Whether you think a little or a lot about these pairs, they play through portions of our lives on a scale that surpasses the otherwise banal moments we might often ascribe to "life." I'm writing a new novel about the lives of Max and Greta, married 40 years and wondering what's it all been worth; meanwhile I continue to blog about books and book culture, and writing. Feel free to contact me about reading and writing. I enjoy corresponding with new people and creative minds. My motto is "read, live, write." I once lived in middle-America, in Chicago. Now I reside in Europe. It's a pleasant continent.