Christmas Posting Dates
The Book of Unholy Mischief

The Book of Unholy Mischief

Book rating: 05 Paperback

By (author) Elle Newmark

$10.36
List price $12.52
You save $2.16 17% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback | 464 pages
  • Dimensions: 127mm x 198mm x 27mm | 312g
  • Publication date: 10 September 2009
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 0552775215
  • ISBN 13: 9780552775212
  • Sales rank: 153,268

Product description

It is 1498, and the whole of Venice is abuzz. Hidden somewhere in the labyrinthine city is an ancient book, rumoured to contain thorny heresies and secrets of immeasurable power. Luciano, a penniless orphan, has been plucked from the street and taken on as apprentice to the chef at the doge's palace. While learning the alchemy of cooking, he quickly finds himself entangled in the search for the ancient tome, even suspecting the chef, his maestro, may be concealing valuable information. But lurking in the wings are some of the most powerful, dangerous men in Venice, and Luciano's secret will lead him through a perilous maze to the centre of an intrigue that will test his deepest desires and loyalties.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Elle Newmark lives in the hills north of San Diego, California. Her father, the chef who inspired her book, lives next door. He's 90 year's old, and still cooking. This is her first novel and she is currently writing her second.

Customer reviews

By charlie lee 09 Aug 2011 5

The setting of 15th century venice with it's varied and colourful characters. Traders, merchants, sailors, chefs, thieves, vagabonds,and whores, All go to make this an enjoyable read.

Review quote

"Rumour, court machinations and a rattling good plot" Fanny Blake, Woman & Home "'Unashamedly fun and will appeal to fans of Kate Mosse and Dan Brown... full of twisting passageways, wall tapestries complete with spy holes, and all manner of skulduggery... The plot crackles along, piling up the murders and conspiracies among the culinary metaphors. A very promising new author'" New Books Magazine "It is a clutching story, with love interests and court shenanigans, odd fellows and weird sisters, lurking in wait for their stage entrance, scenes of comic hilarity around the dinner table, and a high spirited tribute to the fruits of knowledge...In her own neat piece of alchemy, Newmark takes the heft of a potato and turns it into an ode for paying attention" Kirkus Reviews, US