Under a Flaming Sky: The Great Hinckley Firestorm of 1894

Under a Flaming Sky: The Great Hinckley Firestorm of 1894


By (author) James Brown Daniel

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks

Additional formats available

Paperback $13.17
  • Publisher: The Lyons Press
  • Format: Hardback | 288 pages
  • Dimensions: 155mm x 231mm x 33mm | 567g
  • Publication date: 1 May 2006
  • Publication City/Country: Guilford
  • ISBN 10: 1592288634
  • ISBN 13: 9781592288632

Product description

One of North America's most destructive fires, and the amazing true story of how its survivors escaped to change a nation.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Daniel Brown grew up with stories of the Hinckley firestorm ringing in his ears. His great-grandfather died in the fire, while his grandfather and great-grandmother escaped on a burning train. Brown recently retired from Microsoft Corporation where he was a managing editor. Before working at Microsoft, he taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford University, and is the coauthor of two textbooks on writing. He lives in the country east of Redmond, Washington, with his wife and two daughters.

Review quote

"Riveting, moving, white-knuckle reading to rank with classic accounts of the "perfect storm", Krakatoa, and other storied calamities"-- Booklist "Illustrated with period pictures, this deft slice of regional history will attract disaster and weather buffs as well as fans of Norman Maclean's standout Young Men and Fire"-- Publisher's Weekly"...[a] worthy addition to this genre...a compelling read... ...the power of the stories and Brown's imaginative skill retelling them [pulls] us in..." --MN Star Tribune

Table of contents

CONTENTS Foreword Chapter One: Night Music Chapter Two: Morning Chapter Three: Home Sweet Home Chapter Four: Something Wicked Chapter Five: The Cauldron Chapter Six: Ragnarok Chapter Seven: Under the Stone Chapter Eight: Into the Ring Chapter Nine: Out of the Ashes Chapter Ten: The Broken Season Epilogue Afterword