Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

By (author)


You save US$1.28

Free delivery worldwide


When will my order arrive?

120 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

This is an inspirational novel based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines the story of a handful of these people as they trek across Germany, bound together only by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. From the gentle wisdom of the old man known as the Shoe Poet to the bravery of Emilia, the Polish girl who struggles onwards hiding a dark secret inside herself, this is a band of unforgettable characters and unmissable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed by this.

show more
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 129 x 198mm
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0141347406
  • 9780141347400
  • 870,178

Other books in General

Other people who viewed this bought:

About Ruta Sepetys

Ruta Sepetys is the author of acclaimed YA novel, Between Shades of Grey. Born and raised in Michigan in a family of Lithuanian descent, Ruta now lives with her husband in Tennessee. Ruta was a highly successful promoter of classical music concerts, booking and touring with orchestras worldwide, before turning to writing full-time. In 2015 Ruta has been awarded The Rockefeller Foundation's prestigious Bellagio Center writing residency, where she will interact with other leading international artists, writers and thinkers.

show more

Reviews from