Salt to the Sea
10%
off

Salt to the Sea

By (author) Ruta Sepetys

US$10.91US$12.20

You save US$1.29

Free delivery worldwide

Pre-order

When will my order arrive?

152 days to go
Pre-order Add to wishlist

This is an inspirational novel based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines the story of a handful of these people as they trek across Germany, bound together only by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. From the gentle wisdom of the old man known as the Shoe Poet to the bravery of Emilia, the Polish girl who struggles onwards hiding a dark secret inside herself, this is a band of unforgettable characters and unmissable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed by this.

show more
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 04 Feb 2016
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • PUFFIN
  • English
  • 0141347406
  • 9780141347400
  • 707,594

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Ruta Sepetys is the author of acclaimed YA novel, Between Shades of Grey. Born and raised in Michigan in a family of Lithuanian descent, Ruta now lives with her husband in Tennessee. Ruta was a highly successful promoter of classical music concerts, booking and touring with orchestras worldwide, before turning to writing full-time. In 2015 Ruta has been awarded The Rockefeller Foundation's prestigious Bellagio Center writing residency, where she will interact with other leading international artists, writers and thinkers.

show more