True Blood and Philosophy: We Wanna Think Bad Things with You

True Blood and Philosophy: We Wanna Think Bad Things with You

Paperback Blackwell Philosophy & Pop Culture (Paperback)

By (author) William Irwin, By (author) George A. Dunn, By (author) Rebecca Housel

USD$12.95
List price $18.61
You save $5.66 30% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 4 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: John Wiley & Sons Ltd
  • Format: Paperback | 256 pages
  • Dimensions: 150mm x 228mm x 18mm | 481g
  • Publication date: 1 June 2010
  • Publication City/Country: Chichester
  • ISBN 10: 0470597720
  • ISBN 13: 9780470597729
  • Sales rank: 153,457

Product description

The first look at the philosophical issues behind CharlaineHarris's New York Times bestsellers The Southern VampireMysteries and the True Blood television series Teeming with complex, mythical characters in the shape ofvampires, telepaths, shapeshifters, and the like, TrueBlood, the popular HBO series adapted from Charlaine Harris'sbestselling The Southern Vampire Mysteries, has a richcollection of themes to explore, from sex and romance to bigotryand violence to death and immortality. The goings-on in themythical town of Bon Temps, Louisiana, where vampires satiate theirblood lust and openly commingle with ordinary humans, present noshortages of juicy metaphysical morsels to sink your teethinto.Now True Blood and Philosophy calls on the minds of someof history's great thinkers to perform some philosophicalbloodletting on such topics as Sookie and the metaphysics ofmindreading; Maryann and sacrificial religion; werewolves,shapeshifters and personal identity; vampire politics, evil,desire, and much more. * The first book to explore the philosophical issues and themesbehind the True Blood novels and television series * Adds a new dimension to your understanding of True Bloodcharacters and themes * The perfect companion to the start of the third season on HBOand the release of the second season on DVDSmart and entertaining, True Blood and Philosophyprovides food-or blood-for thought, and a fun, new wayto look at the series.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

GEORGE A. DUNN is a lecturer at the University ofIndianapolis and Ningbo Institute of Technology, ZhejiangUniversity, China. He contributed to Battlestar Galactica andPhilosophy, X-Men and Philosophy, Terminator andPhilosophy, Twilight and Philosophy, Alice inWonderland and Philosophy, Iron Man and Philosophy, and Mad Men and Philosophy. REBECCA HOUSEL, a former professor of writing and popularculture, is now an author and editor serving on editorial advisoryboards for the Journal of Popular Culture and the Journalof American Culture. She coedited Twilight andPhilosophy and X-Men and Philosophy. WILLIAM IRWIN is a professor of philosophy at King'sCollege. He originated the philosophy and popular culture genre ofbooks as coeditor of the bestselling The Simpsons and Philosophyand has overseen recent titles, including Batman andPhilosophy, House and Philosophy, and Alice inWonderland and Philosophy.

Review quote

Can John Locke's memory theory explain the nature of vampire identity? Is there a PETA message buried in True Blood's take on vampire-human relations? These and other biting issues constitute the smart and amusing essays in the latest William Irwin-edited Blackwell Philosophy and Pop Culture Series (after Mad Men and Philosophy). Authors invoke the likes of Kant, Sartre, and Freud and approach their topics with the seriousness of a devoted fan balanced with the levity and wit the series is known for. More than one essay focusing on God and vampires duplicate efforts, but highlights include Christopher Robichaud's examination of consent in creating a vampire, William M. Curtis's discussion of metaphor and the mainstreaming of blood suckers, Ron Hirschbein's exploration of the "Edible Complex," and Patricia Brace and Robert Arp's analysis of the not-so-subtle similarities between vampire rights and gay rights. These easily-digestible philosophical morsels are perfect for fans of Jon Stewart and anyone else who likes to laugh while they learn. (June) (PW.com, August 16, 2010)

Back cover copy

BLACKWELL PHILOSOPHY AND POP CULTURE SERIESThis book has not been approved, licensed, or sponsored by any entity or person involved in creating or producing the Southern Vampire Mysteries, True Blood, the novels, or TV show.Does God hate fangs?Is Sam still Sam when he turns into a collie?Is coming out of the coffin the same as coming out of the closet?Are all vampires created evil?Vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, fairies, telepaths--True Blood has it all. In a world where supernatural creatures coexist with human beings, Sookie Stackhouse and Bill Compton wrestle with powerful desires while facing complex issues concerning sex, romance, bigotry, violence, death, and immortality. Now, "True Blood and Philosophy" calls on the minds of some of history's great thinkers to perform some philosophical bloodletting on this thought-provoking series. From the metaphysics of mind reading to Maryann Forrester's cult of Dionysus, from vampire politics to the nature of personal identity, and from contemporary feminism to the rights of nonhuman species, "True Blood and Philosophy" mines the thinking of philosophers such as Plato, Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, John Locke, Immanuel Kant, Friedrich Nietzsche, and John Rawls to enlighten us on the intriguing themes that surround this supernatural world. You'll find no shortage of juicy metaphysical morsels to sink your teeth into!To learn more about the Blackwell Philosophy and Pop Culture series, visit www.andphilosophy.com

Table of contents

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS: For the "Supes" We Just Can't Live Without. Introduction: "If a Tree Falls in the Woods, It's Still aTree Ain't It?" PART ONE: "I USED TO HATE VAMPIRES, UNTIL I GOT TO KNOW ONE":VAMPIRE-HUMAN ETHICS. 1 To Turn or Not to Turn: The Ethics of Making Vampires(Christopher Robichaud). 2 Dressing Up and Playing Human: Vampire Assimilation in theHuman Playground (Jennifer Culver). 3 Pets, Cattle, and Higher Life Forms on True Blood(Ariadne Blayde and George A. Dunn). PART TWO: "LIFE-CHALLENGED INDIVIDUALS": THE POLITICS OFBEING DEAD. 4 Signed in Blood: Rights and the Vampire-Human Social Contract(Joseph J. Foy). 5 "Honey, If We Can't Kill People, What's the Point of Being aVampire?": Can Vampires Be Good Citizens? (William M.Curtis). 6 Un-True Blood: The Politics of Artificiality (Bruce A.McClelland). PART THREE: "THEIR VERY BLOOD IS SEDUCTIVE": EROS, SEXUALITY,AND GENDER. 7 Coming Out of the Coffin and Coming Out of the Closet(Patricia Brace and Robert Arp). 8 "I Am Sookie, Hear Me Roar!": Sookie Stackhouse and FeministAmbivalence (Lillian E. Craton and Kathryn E. Jonell). 9 Sookie, Sigmund, and the Edible Complex (RonHirschbein). PART FOUR: "I AM ACTUALLY OLDER THAN YOUR JESUS": NATURAL,SUPERNATURAL, AND DIVINE. 10 Let the Bon Temps Roll: Sacrifice, Scapegoats, and Good Times(Kevin J. Corn and George A. Dunn). 11 Are Vampires Unnatural? (Andrew Terjesen and JennyTerjesen). 12 Does God Hate Fangs? (Adam Barkman). PART FIVE: "OUR EXISTENCE IS INSANITY": THE METAPHYSICS OFSUPERNATURAL BEINGS. 13 A Vampire's Heart Has Its Reasons That Scientifi c NaturalismCan t Understand (Susan Peppers-Bates and JoshuaRust). 14 Keeping Secrets from Sookie (Fred Curry). 15 Vampires, Werewolves, and Shapeshifters: The More TheyChange, the More They Stay the Same (Sarah Grubb). CONTRIBUTORS: "I Don't Know Who You Think You Are, butBefore the Night Is Through ..." INDEX: Sookie's Words of the Day.