Christmas Posting Dates
Tribune of Rome

Tribune of Rome

Paperback

By (author) Robert Fabbri

List price $12.52

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $11.66
  • Publisher: Corvus
  • Format: Paperback | 384 pages
  • Dimensions: 156mm x 234mm
  • Publication date: 1 May 2011
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1848879105
  • ISBN 13: 9781848879102
  • Edition statement: Export & Airside ed
  • Sales rank: 581,233

Product description

This is the first in a red-blooded historical adventure series charting the rise of Vespasian from rural obscurity to Emperor of Rome. A seamless blend of imperial politics, chariot races, sex and sword fights: Roman history as the gods intended! "One Man: One Destiny" - 26 AD: Sixteen-year-old Vespasian leaves his family farm for Rome, his sights set on finding a patron and following his brother into the army. But he discovers a city in turmoil and an Empire on the brink. The aging emperor Tiberius is in seclusion on Capri, leaving Rome in the iron grip of Sejanus, commander of the Praetorian Guard. Sejanus is ruler of the Empire in all but name, but many fear that isn't enough for him. Sejanus' spies are everywhere - careless words at a dinner party can be as dangerous as a barbarian arrow. Vespasian is totally out of his depth, making dangerous enemies (and even more dangerous friends - like the young Caligula) and soon finds himself ensnared in a conspiracy against Tiberius. With the situation in Rome deteriorating, Vespasian flees the city to take up his position as tribune in an unfashionable legion on the Balkan frontier. But even here there is no escaping the politics of Rome. Unblooded and inexperienced, he must lead his men in savage battle with hostile mountain tribes - dangerous enough without renegade Praetorians and Imperial agents trying to kill him too. Somehow, he must survive long enough to uncover the identity of the traitors behind the growing revolt...This title is suitable for fans of Conn Iggulden, Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane, and Harry Sidebottom.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Robert Fabbri read Drama and Theatre at London University and has worked in film and TV for 25 years. He is an assistant director and has worked on productions such as Hornblower, Hellraiser, Patriot Games and Billy Elliot. Now, his life-long passion for ancient history, especially for that of the Roman Empire, has drawn him to write his first novel. He lives in London and Berlin.