Torn

Torn

Book rating: 04 Paperback Trylle Novels (Paperback)

By (author) Amanda Hocking

$8.98
List price $9.00
You save $0.02

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $23.56
  • Publisher: St Martin's Press
  • Format: Paperback | 336 pages
  • Dimensions: 137mm x 206mm x 28mm | 295g
  • Publication date: 28 February 2012
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 1250006325
  • ISBN 13: 9781250006325
  • Edition statement: St Martin's Griffin ed.
  • Sales rank: 8,078

Product description

"Amanda Hocking is an indie publishing sensation whose self-published novels have sold millions of copies all over the world. Step into the world of the Trylle, and prepare to be enchanted...." When Wendy Everly first discovers the truth about herself--that she's a changeling switched at birth--she knows her life will never be the same. Now she's about to learn that there's more to the story... She shares a closer connection to her Vittra rivals than she ever imagined--and they'll stop at nothing to lure her to their side. With the threat of war looming, her only hope of saving the Trylle is to master her magical powers--and marry an equally powerful royal. But that means walking away from Finn, her handsome bodyguard who's strictly off limits...and Loki, a Vittra prince with whom she shares a growing attraction. Torn between her heart and her people, between love and duty, Wendy must decide her fate. If she makes the wrong choice, she could lose everything, and everybody, she's ever wanted...in both worlds. As a special gift to readers, this book contains a new, never-before-published bonus story, "One Day, Three Ways," set in the magical world of the Trylle.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Amanda Hocking is the "USA Today" bestselling author of the "Trylle" trilogy and six additional self-published novels. After selling over a million copies of her books, primarily in eBook format, she is widely considered the exemplar of self-publishing success in the digital age.

Customer reviews

By Reading For Fun 06 Mar 2012 4

Torn is book two in Amanda Hocking's Trylle Trilogy, and it picks up right where Switched left off. After leaving the palace, Wendy returns home and this decision alone I think created a series of events that paved the way for a very action-packed and fun story. We get a deeper taste of the Trylle society in this installment, involving troll politics, moral clashes, and fantasy in a way that expanded this already huge series, and gives the reader a lot more to love.

Amanda Hocking is a fantastic story teller, plain and simple. She creates worlds that are unbearably exciting and unique and characters that bring that world to life. In book two, however, we get to delve a little deeper into this particular world, and I think the most interesting aspect was the political ones and the ethical ones Wendy suffers from. In any society there's going to be a hierarchy. In Trylle Wendy suffers even more, because she isn't involved with just one kingdom this time around. The pull of both troll tribes were black and white if you ask me, and the complexity of this fantasy world amazed me. What would you do if you were princess? Would you fall into place and question nothing, or would you fight it and question everything? If you read book one you know which answer Wendy chose. I find her reluctance oddly endearing. She doesn't necessarily fit into either world, but she tries, and you can't deny that after reading this book. Just because she should do something or behave a certain way, doesn't mean she has to. I do wish she'd play her princess role up a bit more, because she might get more of what she wanted if she gave something in return. A little give might help her, but for the most part Wendy's highly fueled by wrong and right. Doing what's right to her is usually wrong to everyone else, but not once does she allow others to persuade her way of thinking. I will say that toward the end she seems to embrace her power after Elora explains why she's so important.

My only criticism was the overall progression once the book is over. Though we move deeper into this world of trolls, sometimes I felt for a sequel we could have gone even deeper. When Wendy's at the palace things seem to slow down, and it isn't until she leaves does it speed up. Maybe it's because the danger level is heightened when she's away from the protection of the palace, but either way I wanted the strength book one had. Things picked up in the end, but there's a period in the middle where nothing happens.

The romance, however, was my favorite part. It always is with any story, but there's something about Finn and Loki that kept my flipping the pages. I love Finn, of course, but I'm growing tired of his distance and his desire to remain loyal to the palace's order of hierarchy. Loki, on the other hand, was the opposite of Finn in every way, and I found myself just as drawn to him as Wendy. He's bold, charming, hilarious, and order isn't his thing. I don't expect any guy to turn his back on his world, but I do expect some compromise. Finn doesn't compromise, and I think Loki might have beat him out in this installment even with the shock at the end involving Tove. The relationships also grow tremendously in this book. Elora's indifference isn't exactly justified, but the reasons behind it have become clearer. She grew on me in a way I never thought she could. Her past unfolded in front our eyes and shined some much needed light onto who she is. Tove also got a bigger part, showcasing his amazingly cool abilities and we get to learn how deep Wendy's run and how powerful she really is.

Overall Torn was a fantastic follow-up to Switched! Fans of Wendy, Finn, and these amazing trolls will no doubt be satisfied! I can't wait for book three!

Review quote

"Amanda Hocking has created a unique tale in this genre that has become extremely crowded with stories from both indie and veteran authors. "Torn "is fast-paced and will engage you from the very first page." -"Fiktshun ""An amazing book with lots of thrills. The fast pace will keep you riveted as Hocking deploys multiple twists and turns, and romance abounds." -"Romantic Times""""After Switched, I knew I had to read the second book right away...Torn is very original, the writing draws you in from the start and the emotions ring true. I can't wait until the final book comes out."" -Bewitched Bookworms""""Fans of the series will enjoy watching on as Wendy continues to wrestle with issues of belonging...and matters of the heart that will keep readers happily entertained. There is no denying that Hocking knows how to tell a good story and keep readers coming back for more. More is exactly what they will be looking for once they've turned the last page." -"Kirkus Reviews" """"""Torn" is truly a coming of age story for Wendy and because we see her mature and grow into the role of becoming the princess. I highly recommend Torn and give it a 5/5." -"Do Not Disturb My Books" """This page-turner...is definitely a must read by an author whose storytelling skills keep getting better and better." -"Bewitched Bookworms """"Amanda Hocking did it again! Another page turner that I simply couldn't put down. Beautifully written, engaging characters and a story-line that didn't stop." -"Latest Book Reviews""""""Some secrets will be revealed and her romantic struggles only deepen. Amanda Hocking surpasses all expectations with Torn."" -Smart Bookworms"