• Time Present and Time Past See large image

    Time Present and Time Past (Paperback) By (author) Deirdre Madden

    $14.66 - Save $6.32 30% off - RRP $20.98 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFintan Buckley is a pleasant, rather conventional and unimaginative man, who works as a legal adviser in an import/export firm in Dublin. He lives in Howth and is married to Colette. They have two sons who are at university, and a small daughter. As he goes about his life, working and spending time with his family, Fintan begins to experience states of altered consciousness and auditory hallucinations, which seem to take him out of a linear experience of time. He becomes interested in how we remember or imagine the past, an interest trigged by becoming aware of early photography, particularly early colour photography. He also finds himself thinking more about his own past, including time spent holidaying in the north of Ireland as a child with his father's family. Over the years he has become distanced from them, and in the course of the novel this link is re-established and helps to bring him understanding and peace, although in a most unexpected way. "The Trees are Moving", Deirdre Madden's eighth novel for adults, is about time: about how not just daily life and one's own, or one's family's past, intersect with each other.

Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Time Present and Time Past

    Time Present and Time Past
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Deirdre Madden
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 240
    Width: 135 mm
    Height: 216 mm
    Thickness: 18 mm
    Weight: 276 g
    ISBN 13: 9780571290864
    ISBN 10: 0571290868

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    BISAC V2.8: FIC000000
    DC23: 823.92
    Imprint name
    Publication date
    06 June 2013
    Publication City/Country
    Author Information
    Deirdre Madden is from Toomebridge, Co. Antrim. Her novels include The Birds of Innocent Wood, Nothing is Black, One by One in the Darkness, which was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, and Authenticity. Her most recent novel Molly Fox's Birthday also was shortlisted for the Orange Prize. She teaches at Trinity College, Dublin and is a member of the Irish Arts Academy Aosdana.
    Review quote
    'With her latest offering, Madden adds a consummately crafted novel to an already formidable body of work ... the novel takes its title from the 'Burnt Norton' section of TS Eliot's Four Quartets ... by the end of the book the reader realises that Madden - cleverly, playfully, with sly wit and real skill - has translated this intellectual and poetic expression of time into a deeply moving portrait of domestic and family life. -- Adam O'Riordan Sunday Telegraph This is an exalting story that celebrates the survival of fragile folk, and revels in the mysteries of the commonplace. An outstanding book. -- Mary Shine Thompson Irish Independent Madden's precise, cool narrative is as condensed and rich as a stock cube, and there's always a confidence that she knows exactly what she wants to convey ... the book is beautifully written and gently invites us to consider the shifting patterns of time.' -- Andrea Mullaney The Scotsman Confiding and measured, and allows fantasy to challenge memory and yet remain the truth. -- Mary Leland Irish Examiner