A Thousand Pardons

A Thousand Pardons

Hardback

By (author) Jonathan Dee

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $11.60
  • Publisher: RANDOM HOUSE
  • Format: Hardback | 224 pages
  • Dimensions: 168mm x 244mm x 28mm | 476g
  • Publication date: 12 March 2013
  • ISBN 10: 0812993217
  • ISBN 13: 9780812993219
  • Edition statement: New ed.
  • Sales rank: 645,264

Product description

For readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home--a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness. Praise for `A Thousand Pardons` ``A Thousand Pardons `is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times.`--Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of `A Visit from the Goon Squad` `Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . `A Thousand Pardons `moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there.`--`The Boston Globe` `Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight.``--The New York Times Book Review` `Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp.``--O: The Oprah Magazine` ` ` `Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful.``--Entertainment Weekly` `A page turner . . . What a triumph.`--`Kirkus Reviews` (starred review) `Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh.``--People` `Propulsively readable.`--The Millions `Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details.``--The Atlantic`

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Jonathan Dee is the author of five previous novels, most recently `The Privileges, ` which was a finalist for the 2010 Pulitzer Prize and winner of the 2011 Prix Fitzgerald and the St. Francis College Literary Prize. He is a contributing writer for `The New York Times Magazine, `a National Magazine Award-nominated literary critic for `Harper's, ` a former senior editor of `The Paris Review, ` and the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation.

Review quote

``A Thousand Pardons `is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times.`--Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of `A Visit from the Goon Squad` `Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . `A Thousand Pardons `moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there.`--`The Boston Globe` `Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight.``--The New York Times Book Review` `Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp.``--O: The Oprah Magazine` ` ` `Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful.``--Entertainment Weekly` `A page turner . . . What a triumph.`--`Kirkus Reviews` (starred review) `Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh.``--People` `Propulsively readable.`--The Millions `Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details.``--The Atlantic`