• A Thousand Pardons See large image

    A Thousand Pardons (Hardback) By (author) Jonathan Dee

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $19.36 - Save $6.64 25% off - RRP $26.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 6 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $8.95

    DescriptionFor readers of Jonathan Franzen and Richard Russo, Jonathan Dee's novels are masterful works of literary fiction. In this sharply observed tale of self-invention and public scandal, Dee raises a trenchant question: what do we really want when we ask for forgiveness? Once a privileged and loving couple, the Armsteads have now reached a breaking point. Ben, a partner in a prestigious law firm, has become unpredictable at work and withdrawn at home--a change that weighs heavily on his wife, Helen, and their preteen daughter, Sara. Then, in one afternoon, Ben's recklessness takes an alarming turn, and everything the Armsteads have built together unravels, swiftly and spectacularly. Thrust back into the working world, Helen finds a job in public relations and relocates with Sara from their home in upstate New York to an apartment in Manhattan. There, Helen discovers she has a rare gift, indispensable in the world of image control: She can convince arrogant men to admit their mistakes, spinning crises into second chances. Yet redemption is more easily granted in her professional life than in her personal one. As she is confronted with the biggest case of her career, the fallout from her marriage, and Sara's increasingly distant behavior, Helen must face the limits of accountability and her own capacity for forgiveness. Praise for `A Thousand Pardons` ``A Thousand Pardons `is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times.`--Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of `A Visit from the Goon Squad` `Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . `A Thousand Pardons `moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there.`--`The Boston Globe` `Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight.``--The New York Times Book Review` `Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp.``--O: The Oprah Magazine` ` ` `Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful.``--Entertainment Weekly` `A page turner . . . What a triumph.`--`Kirkus Reviews` (starred review) `Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh.``--People` `Propulsively readable.`--The Millions `Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details.``--The Atlantic`


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for A Thousand Pardons

    Title
    A Thousand Pardons
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Jonathan Dee
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 224
    Width: 168 mm
    Height: 244 mm
    Thickness: 28 mm
    Weight: 476 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780812993219
    ISBN 10: 0812993217
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    DC21: 813.54
    BIC subject category V2: FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 01
    Ingram Theme: TOPC/FAMILY
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    Ingram Subject Code: FC
    Libri: I-FC
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 01
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 74
    DC22: 813/.54
    BISAC V2.8: FIC045000, FIC044000
    LC subject heading: , , , ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC019000
    LC subject heading:
    LC classification: PS3554.E355 T57 2013
    Ingram Theme: ASPT/DIXNAS
    Thema V1.0: FBA
    Edition statement
    New ed.
    Publisher
    RANDOM HOUSE
    Imprint name
    RANDOM HOUSE
    Publication date
    12 March 2013
    Author Information
    Jonathan Dee is the author of five previous novels, most recently `The Privileges, ` which was a finalist for the 2010 Pulitzer Prize and winner of the 2011 Prix Fitzgerald and the St. Francis College Literary Prize. He is a contributing writer for `The New York Times Magazine, `a National Magazine Award-nominated literary critic for `Harper's, ` a former senior editor of `The Paris Review, ` and the recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation.
    Review quote
    ``A Thousand Pardons `is that rare thing: a genuine literary thriller. Eerily suspenseful and packed with dramatic event, it also offers a trenchant, hilarious portrait of our collective longing for authenticity in these overmediated times.`--Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of `A Visit from the Goon Squad` `Hugely enjoyable . . . Dee is a snappy, cinematic writer. . . . `A Thousand Pardons `moves fast. It's a mere 200 or so pages, and it packs a lot of turns of fate within there.`--`The Boston Globe` `Dee's gifts are often dazzling and his material meticulously shaped. . . . [He] articulates complex emotional dynamics with precision and insight.``--The New York Times Book Review` `Some stories begin with a bang. And some begin with a roaring fireball of truth. Jonathan Dee's latest novel belongs in the latter camp.``--O: The Oprah Magazine` ` ` `Dee bounds gracefully among Helen's, Ben's, and Sara's points of view as they try to reassemble their lives. Their stories feel honest, and the prose is beautiful.``--Entertainment Weekly` `A page turner . . . What a triumph.`--`Kirkus Reviews` (starred review) `Graceful prose and such a sharp understanding of human weakness that you'll wince as you laugh.``--People` `Propulsively readable.`--The Millions `Dee continues to establish himself as an ironic observer of contemporary behavior. . . . The plot is energetic. . . . But most compelling is the acuteness of the details.``--The Atlantic`