This Time of Dying
37%
off

This Time of Dying

By (author)

US$7.91US$12.65

You save US$4.74

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Description

This work is suitable for readers of "Sebastian Faulks", Helen Dunmore's "Zennor in Darkness" and "The Siege", Rose Tremain's "The Way I Found Her", and Pat Barker's "Regeneration" trilogy. It is October 1918 and London is gathering in its dead. For Henry Speake, of Speake & Son Undertakers, laying to rest the shattered young bodies of those sent home from the Front to die has become a grimly familiar duty. But what he is seeing now, as influenza claims its victims with increasing speed and force, is something different; for the first time in his life, Henry feels afraid of death. Unable to share his fears with his waspish, disapproving sisters, Henry turns instead to Mrs Allen Thompson, a recently widowed school teacher, so beginning a friendship which gradually, stumblingly, pulls them in a direction neither has been prepared for.

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 240 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 23mm | 280g
  • GRANTA BOOKS
  • Portobello Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 1846270464
  • 9781846270468
  • 583,102