This Time of Dying

This Time of Dying

By (author)


You save US$2.32

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to United States by Christmas Expected delivery to United States by Christmas

This work is suitable for readers of "Sebastian Faulks", Helen Dunmore's "Zennor in Darkness" and "The Siege", Rose Tremain's "The Way I Found Her", and Pat Barker's "Regeneration" trilogy. It is October 1918 and London is gathering in its dead. For Henry Speake, of Speake & Son Undertakers, laying to rest the shattered young bodies of those sent home from the Front to die has become a grimly familiar duty. But what he is seeing now, as influenza claims its victims with increasing speed and force, is something different; for the first time in his life, Henry feels afraid of death. Unable to share his fears with his waspish, disapproving sisters, Henry turns instead to Mrs Allen Thompson, a recently widowed school teacher, so beginning a friendship which gradually, stumblingly, pulls them in a direction neither has been prepared for.

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 240 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 23mm | 280g
  • Portobello Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • New edition
  • New edition
  • 1846270464
  • 9781846270468
  • 547,845

Other books in Romance

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"'Rich and absorbing... a five-star weepie' The Times"

show more

About Reina James

REINA JAMES lost two grandparents to the 1918 Spanish flu. This is her first novel.

show more