The Thief
16%
off

The Thief

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. Eugenides, the queen's thief, can steal anything-or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king's magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he's in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief. A Newbery Honor Book An ALA Notable Book A YALSA Best Book for Young Adults A Horn Book Fanfare Book A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age A Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books Blue Ribbon Book A Junior Library Guild Selection "The Queen's Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner's books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come."-Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail-you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again." -Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows "Trust me. Just read it. Then read it again, because it will not be the same river twice."-Lois McMaster Bujold, acclaimed and Hugo Award-winning author of the Vorkosigan Saga, the Chalion Series, and the Sharing Knife series "In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all-a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." -Publishers Weekly (starred review) "To miss this thief's story would be a crime."-Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review) "A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over."-Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel."-The Horn Book (starred review)show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 304 pages
  • 130 x 192 x 20mm | 222.26g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • Greenwillow Books
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0060824972
  • 9780060824976
  • 14,580

Review quote

"Megan Whalen Turner has constructed a clever world filled with suspense and intrigue and characters that will never be forgotten. Once you dive into the world of the Queen's Thief [books], prepare to have your life stolen from you until you finish them all." -- Joelle Charbonneau, New York Times-bestselling author of the Testing trilogy "An exceptional adventure story." -- KLIATTshow more

Back cover copy

"I can steal anything."After Gen's bragging lands him in the king's prison, the chances of escape look slim. Then the king's scholar, the magus, needs the thief's skill for a seemingly impossible task -- to steal a hidden treasure from another land.To the magus, Gen is just a tool. But Gen is a trickster and a survivor with a plan of his own.show more

About Megan Whalen Turner

Megan Whalen Turner is the bestselling and award-winning author of four novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief. She has been awarded a Newbery Honor and a Horn Book-Boston Globe Honor and won the LA Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature. She has won the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature and was a finalist for the Andre Norton Award. She worked as a bookseller for seven years before she started writing. Her first book was a collection of short stories called Instead of Three Wishes. She lives in Shaker Heights, Ohio. www.meganwhalenturner.org http://meganwhalenturner.tumblr.com/show more

Review Text

"Megan Whalen Turner has constructed a clever world filled with suspense and intrigue and characters that will never be forgotten. Once you dive into the world of the Queen's Thief [books], prepare to have your life stolen from you until you finish them all." Joelle Charbonneau, New York Times-bestselling author of the Testing trilogyshow more

Customer reviews

Also published in <a href="http://cupofcoffeeandabook.blogspot.pt/2012/08/review-thief-queens-thief-1.html">"A Cup of Coffee and a Book"</a> <b>*This review contains spoilers!*</b> This was a surprisingly enjoyable read. It wasn't what I first expected but it was good nevertheless. A true page-turned since chapter one with Eugenides - aka Gen - presenting himself to us and "fooling" us till the end. His character was amazing - one of the best character I've ever came across - a thief who spends half his time hungry and eating but with a strong and a great personality. At times I thought he wasn't a thief at all and we were going to learn he was a prince or something. He's a thief alright, but a very special one. The Magus was hard for me to analyse. At moments during the journey I would like him but then he opened his mouth and said something unpleasant and I would change my opinion, despising him. However, he turned out to be a great character and being also surprised with the turned of the events that occurred in the end... he was fooled like I was. Sophos was just a cute character. That "gay" romance in the end proves he's a butter heart and a very caring guy. And I still feel there's going to be a rather good surprise for us in the rest of the saga. I have to keep reading to find out if my feelings are true or not. I was reading a review of a friend of mine (Carla from <a href="http://cuidadocomodalmata.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/the-thief/">Cuidado Com o D�?�¡lmata</a> and I couldn't help but agreeing with the fact that I was expecting some romance. There should have been a girl for Gen somewhere in the story. Helplessly romantic as I am, having a story with no love whatsoever made me sad. There were only hints of a possible infatuation of Sophos for Gen but nothing concrete. Hence the 4 stars and not 5. I absolutely loved the chapter when Gen finds the chamber where the Gift is. I've read it twice 'cause I loved the idea. The fantasy in that moment was so awesome... I just love fantasy. I will admit, embarrassing myself, that I wasn't expecting this to be based on the Greek Mythology. That was a nice surprised. And I do believe that particular thing gave a new dimension to the story turning the book into an overwhelming journey. It was easy to create in our mind the places and the characters. They were so real you could almost touch them. Oh, and by the way, have you noticed how similar to Flynn (aka Eu<u>gen</u>e) from <i>Tangled</i> Gen is?!show more
by Leonor (Ner)
Definitely one for the younger crowd, any well read individual will quickly tire of the main character's "cleverness." You can't just say your character is awesome, you have to actually show us as well.show more
by megan