The Tenderness of Wolves

The Tenderness of Wolves

By (author)  , Read by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY EDITION - FEATURES READING GROUP QUESTIONS AND NEW MATERIAL FROM STEF'S UPCOMING EPIC NOVEL, UNDER A POLE STAR COSTA AWARD WINNER and WORLDWIDE BESTSELLER. A breathtaking tale of mystery, buried secrets and romance, set in nineteenth century frontier Canada - for fans of THE SNOW CHILD and A PLACE CALLED WINTER. 'Unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and rewarding' Independent on Sunday 'A tense and delicately written thriller' Observer Canada, 1867. A young murder suspect flees across the snowy wilderness. Tracking him is what passes for the law in this frontier land: trappers, sheriffs, traders and the suspect's own mother, desperate to clear his name. As the party pushes further from civilisation, hidden purposes and old obsessions are revealed. One is seeking long-lost daughters; another a fortune in stolen furs; yet another is chasing rumours of a lost Native American culture. But where survival depends on cooperation, their fragile truce cannot afford to be broken, nor their overriding purpose - to find justice for a murdered man - forgotten. The Tenderness of Wolves is a must-read historical epic, weaving adventure, suspense and humour into an exhilarating thriller, a panoramic romance and ultimately, one of the books of the last ten more

Product details

  • Paperback | 496 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 32mm | 358.34g
  • Quercus Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1847240674
  • 9781847240675
  • 31,321

Review quote

a tense and delicately written thriller - The Observer Observer . a quite remarkable debut novel.' Birmingham Post Birmingham Post "This subtle and superb novel brings the freezing landscape of the Canadian woods to such vivid life that the landscape itself becomes a strong character within the story. Once you have dived into the tiny, closeted world of Caulfield and its forbidding surroundings, you will certainly not wish to leave." . a highly-assured debut..Stef Penney has written an absorbing and stylish mystery. The Glasgow Herald Glasgow Herald ".Stef Penney's hefty first novel The Tenderness of Wolves, mines her setting and period for all it's got and then some, injecting plenty of invented intrigue and Da Vinci Code like revelations of Huge Cultural Importance whenever she can. The result is an entertaining, well-constructed mystery that jazzes up the "real" history in a way that's more Ron Howard than Pierre Berton. It', suspenseful, densely plotted storytelling.The Tenderness of Wolves remains a first-rate gripper with a notably sensual as well as psychological understanding of its main characters. More than this, it is a novel with far greater ambitions than your average thriller, combining as it does the themes of Conrad's Heart of Darkness with Atwood's Survival, and lashing them to a story that morphs Ian Rankin." Andrew Pyper, The Globe and Mail Globe and Mail unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and eventually rewarding - Independent On Sunday Independent On Sundayshow more

About Stef Penney

Stef Penney grew up in Edinburgh. She has degrees in Philosophy and Theology and Film and TV, and was selected for the Carlton Television New Writers Scheme and has since written and directed two short films. She is the author of The Tenderness of Wolves and The Invisible more

Review Text

a tense and delicately written thriller - The Observer Observershow more

Customer reviews

In the Canadian winter of 1867, near the remote settlement of Caulfield, Laurent Jammet is found murdered. His body is discovered by Mrs Ross, whose first-person narrative is one thread of the story. Mrs Ross's son, Francis, is a friend of Laurent Jammet. When Francis doesn't return home after Jammet's murder, he becomes a suspect. A search for Jammet's murderer is soon organised. The searchers include Mrs Ross and Donald Moody, representing the Hudson Bay Company. Others join the search as well, and the community is reminded of an earlier search for two young sisters who disappeared some years earlier. Solving Jammet's murder is not the only truth being sought, and there are a number of other mysteries to be explored and motives to be understood. The wintry landscape both hides and preserves the pasts of some characters, as well as some of the evidence. Doesn't it always matter, finding the truth?' It's a challenge at times to follow the various narrative strands, but it becomes easier as the story progresses. There are a number of sub-plots which add different dimensions to what otherwise might be a straightforward murder investigation. The weather, the past and the country each play a part in the story. I enjoyed this novel and while I fleetingly wished that all loose ends had been tied off at the end, I realised that would not have worked. Not for this novel. The sound is inescapable; quiet but insistent, like conscience.' Jennifer Cameron-Smithshow more
by Jennifer Cameron-Smith