Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch

Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch

Hardback

By (author) Nigel Slater, By (photographer) Jonathan Lovekin

$36.58
List price $40.01
You save $3.43 (8%)

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: TEN SPEED PRESS
  • Format: Hardback | 618 pages
  • Dimensions: 201mm x 284mm x 76mm | 1,769g
  • Publication date: 26 April 2011
  • Publication City/Country: Berkeley, CA
  • ISBN 10: 1607740370
  • ISBN 13: 9781607740377
  • Illustrations note: illustrations
  • Sales rank: 105,082

Product description

A comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain's foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes. In the tradition of "Roast Chicken and Other Stories" comes "Tender," a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. An instant classic when it was first published in the UK, "Tender" is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author's homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater's inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za'atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables--through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen--with this truly essential book for every kitchen library.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Nigel Slater is the author of a collecion of bestselling books including the classics "Real Fast Food," "Appetite, " and the critically acclaimed "The Kitchen Diaries." He has written a much-loved column for "The""Observer" for seventeen years. His memoir, "Toast --The Story of a Boy's Hunger," has won six major awards, including British Biography of the Year. Visit www.nigelslater.com.

Review quote

"Little about TENDER, British writer Nigel Slater's quietly epic cookbook about preparing vegetables, feels designed for the American consumer. The author's preoccupations are so personal, so drawn from the quotidian pleasures of tending his small garden in London, that they feel far removed from the celebrity-penned, diet-driven, ego-tripping cookbooks that dominate U.S. bestseller lists. . . . Slater, in other words, is an obsessive, but one whose obsession seems to stop in the kitchen. Slater has too much respect for all involved -- the ingredient, the reader, the joy of discovery in the kitchen -- to want to serve as your nanny. He'd rather play your mentor, the kind who wants you to love the messy process, not just the finished dish, which, come to think of it, you'll love, too. These easy-to-execute dishes go down just as easy. It all makes you look forward to Slater's second "Tender" volume, dedicated to fruits, due to arrive stateside next spring." --The Washington Post, 8/2

Table of contents

Introducion Asparagus Beets Broccoli and the sprouting greens Brussels sprouts Cabbage Carrots Cauliflower Celery Celery root Chard The Chinese greens Eggplants Fava beans Jerusalem artichokes Kale and cavolo nero Leeks Onions Parsnips Peas Peppers Pole beans Potatoes Pumpkin and other winter squashes Rutabaga Salad leaves Spinach Tomatoes Turnips Zucchini and other summer squashes A few other good things Index