• Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch See large image

    Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch (Hardback) By (author) Nigel Slater, By (photographer) Jonathan Lovekin

    $37.07 - Save $2.93 (7%) - RRP $40.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionA comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain's foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes. In the tradition of "Roast Chicken and Other Stories" comes "Tender," a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. An instant classic when it was first published in the UK, "Tender" is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author's homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater's inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za'atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables--through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen--with this truly essential book for every kitchen library.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Tender

    Title
    Tender
    Subtitle
    A Cook and His Vegetable Patch
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Nigel Slater, By (photographer) Jonathan Lovekin
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 618
    Width: 179 mm
    Height: 244 mm
    Thickness: 53 mm
    Weight: 1,760 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781607740377
    ISBN 10: 1607740370
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC E4L: FOO
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T16.0
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading:
    B&T General Subject: 240
    Ingram Subject Code: CW
    Libri: I-CW
    BIC subject category V2: WBT
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 06
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 641.65
    LC subject heading:
    DC21: 641.65
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 14510
    B&T Approval Code: A97406044
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 641.6/5
    BISAC V2.8: CKB059000, CKB071000, CKB085000
    LC subject heading: , ,
    LC classification: TX801 .S596 2009
    LC subject heading:
    Illustrations note
    illustrations
    Publisher
    TEN SPEED PRESS
    Imprint name
    TEN SPEED PRESS
    Publication date
    26 April 2011
    Author Information
    Nigel Slater is the author of a collecion of bestselling books including the classics Real Fast Food, Appetite, and the critically acclaimed The Kitchen Diaries. He has written a much-loved column for The Observer for seventeen years. His memoir, Toast —The Story of a Boy’s Hunger, has won six major awards, including British Biography of the Year. Visit www.nigelslater.com.
    Review quote
    "New York Times "Notable Cookbook of 2011 "a valentine to produce" --Mother Jones, Favorite Cookbooks of 2011, 12/3/11 "Little about TENDER, British writer Nigel Slater's quietly epic cookbook about preparing vegetables, feels designed for the American consumer. The author's preoccupations are so personal, so drawn from the quotidian pleasures of tending his small garden in London, that they feel far removed from the celebrity-penned, diet-driven, ego-tripping cookbooks that dominate U.S. bestseller lists. . . . Slater, in other words, is an obsessive, but one whose obsession seems to stop in the kitchen. Slater has too much respect for all involved -- the ingredient, the reader, the joy of discovery in the kitchen -- to want to serve as your nanny. He'd rather play your mentor, the kind who wants you to love the messy process, not just the finished dish, which, come to think of it, you'll love, too. These easy-to-execute dishes go down just as easy. It all makes you l
    Table of contents
    Introducion Asparagus Beets Broccoli and the sprouting greens Brussels sprouts Cabbage Carrots Cauliflower Celery Celery root Chard The Chinese greens Eggplants Fava beans Jerusalem artichokes Kale and cavolo nero Leeks Onions Parsnips Peas Peppers Pole beans Potatoes Pumpkin and other winter squashes Rutabaga Salad leaves Spinach Tomatoes Turnips Zucchini and other summer squashes A few other good things Index