The Taste of Conquest

The Taste of Conquest : The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

By (author) , Narrator


Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities-Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam-that transformed the globe in the quest for spice.Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise-and fall-of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam.Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

show more
  • CD-Audio
  • 139.7 x 165.1 x 27.94mm | 204.12g
  • Tantor Media, Inc
  • Old SaybrookUnited States
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 1400105455
  • 9781400105458

Other books in Social & Cultural History

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"Todd McLaren reads with a persuasive impersonation as he vicariously becomes the author." ---AudioFile

show more

About Michael Krondl

Chef and food writer Michael Krondl is the author of "The Great Little Pumpkin Cookbook" and "Around the American Table." Former radio broadcaster Todd McLaren has been heard on more than 5,000 TV and radio commercials; narrations for documentaries on such networks as A&E and the History Channel; and films. His book narrations have earned him a prestigious Audie Award as well as a "Publishers Weekly" Listen-Up Award.

show more

Reviews from