The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice

CD-Audio

By (author) Michael Krondl, Narrator Todd Parker McLaren

Currently unavailable
We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist
OR try AbeBooks who may have this title (opens in new window)

Try AbeBooks

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $13.15
CD-Audio $48.85
  • Publisher: Tantor Media, Inc
  • Format: CD-Audio
  • Dimensions: 140mm x 165mm x 28mm | 204g
  • Publication date: 13 November 2007
  • Publication City/Country: Old Saybrook
  • ISBN 10: 1400105455
  • ISBN 13: 9781400105458
  • Edition: Unabridged
  • Edition statement: Unabridged

Product description

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities--Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam--that transformed the globe in the quest for spice. Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise--and fall--of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam. Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Chef and food writer Michael Krondl is the author of "The Great Little Pumpkin Cookbook" and "Around the American Table." Former radio broadcaster Todd McLaren has been heard on more than 5,000 TV and radio commercials; narrations for documentaries on such networks as A&E and the History Channel; and films. His book narrations have earned him a prestigious Audie Award as well as a "Publishers Weekly" Listen-Up Award.

Review quote

"Todd McLaren reads with a persuasive impersonation as he vicariously becomes the author." ---AudioFile