Spirit's Princess
15%
off

Spirit's Princess

By (author) Esther M Friesner

US$9.34US$10.99

You save US$1.65

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Fans of Malinda Lo and Cindy Pon will be drawn to Esther Friesner's Himiko, the beloved daughter of a chieftain in third-century Japan. The tribe's shamaness has an amazing vision foretelling the young girl's future--one day this privledged child will be the spiritual and tribal leader over all Japan. "Spirit's Princess" details the events of Himiko's early teen years filled with shaman lessons, unexpected friendship, and dealings with other tribes. Once again, Esther Friesner masterfully weaves together history, myth, and mysticism in a tale of a princess whose path is far from traditional.

show more
  • Paperback | 449 pages
  • 139.7 x 205.74 x 30.48mm | 317.51g
  • 23 Apr 2013
  • Bluefire
  • New York, NY
  • English
  • Reprint
  • maps
  • 0375873147
  • 9780375873140
  • 711,092

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Nebula Award winner ESTHER FRIESNER is the author of more than 30 novels and over 150 short stories, including the story "Thunderbolt" in Random House's "Young Warriors" anthology, which lead to the creation of "Nobody's Princess" and "Nobody's Prize. "She is also the editor of seven popular anthologies. Her works have been published around the world. Educated at Vassar College and Yale University, where she taught for a number of years, Ms. Friesner is also a poet, a playwright, and once wrote an advice column, "Ask Auntie Esther." She is married, is the mother of two, harbors cats, and lives in Connecticut.

show more

Review quote

VOYA, February 2012: "Set in third-century Japan, "Spirit's Princess" chronicles Himiko's early years and her struggle to find her path. Beautifully written and heartfelt, Himiko's tale defines a new kind of princess, one for whom strength comes from believing in herself and trusting in the love she has for her people...[R]eaders familiar with the "Princesses of Myth" series will know to expect that this is only the first volume of Himiko's story, the initial developing of a strong and unique protagonist. Filled with expertly crafted description and heartbreaking depth, the text weaves history and myth to create a truly memorable heroine."

show more