The Silversmith's Wife
21%
off

The Silversmith's Wife

By (author) SOPHIA TOBIN

US$15.66US$20.03

You save US$4.37

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

Stunning historical fiction, perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier. The year is 1792 and it's winter in Berkeley Square. As the city sleeps, the night-watchman keeps a cautious eye over the streets and another eye in the back doors of the great and the good. Then one fateful night he comes across the body of Pierre Renard, the eponymous silversmith, lying dead, his throat cut and his valuables missing. It could be common theft, committed by one of the many villains who stalk the square, but as news of the murder spreads, it soon becomes clear that Renard had more than a few enemies, all with their own secrets to hide. At the centre of this web is Mary, the silversmith's wife. Ostensibly theirs was an excellent pairing, but behind closed doors their relationship was a dark and at times sadistic one and when we meet her, Mary is withdrawn and weak, haunted by her past and near-mad with guilt. Will she attain the redemption she seeks and what, exactly, does she need redemption for…? Rich, intricate and beautifully told, this is a story of murder, love and buried secrets.

show more
  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 156 x 236 x 32mm | 619.99g
  • 01 Mar 2014
  • Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • London
  • English
  • 1471128083
  • 9781471128080
  • 360,127

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Sophia Tobin worked for a Bond Street antique dealer for six years, specialising in silver and jewellery. Inspired by research she made into a real life eighteenth-century silversmith, Tobin began to write The Silversmith's Wife which was shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish College Fiction Prize, judged by Sophie Hannah. She is currently Library Secretary for the Worshipful Company of Goldsmith's and lives in London with her husband. This is her first novel.

show more