Shout Her Lovely Name

Shout Her Lovely Name

By (author)


You save US$0.89

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Expected delivery to United States by Christmas Expected delivery to United States by Christmas

A "New York Times" 100 "Notable Books" of 2012"Call it fiction, but this collection is achingly true to life when it comes to the many ways mothers and daughters grow together and apart, over and over again." --"O, the Oprah Magazine"Mothers and daughters ride the familial tide of joy, regret, loathing, and love in these stories of resilient and flawed women. In a battle between a teenage daughter and her mother, wheat bread and plain yogurt become weapons. An aimless college student, married to her much older professor, sneaks cigarettes while caring for their newborn son. On the eve of her husband's fiftieth birthday, a pilfered fifth of rum, an unexpected tattoo, and rogue teenagers leave a woman questioning her place. And in a suite of stories, we follow capricious, ambitious single mother Ruby and her cautious, steadfast daughter Nora through their tumultuous life--stray men, stray cats, and psychedelic drugs--in 1970s California. Gimlet-eyed and emotionally generous, achingly real and beautifully written, these unforgettable stories lay bare the connection and conflict in families. "Shout Her Lovely Name" heralds the arrival of a powerful new writer.

show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 240 pages
  • 144.78 x 213.36 x 27.94mm | 362.87g
  • Boston, MA, United States
  • English
  • 0547634528
  • 9780547634524
  • 910,179

Other books in Short Stories

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

""Shout Her Lovely Name" joins the ranks of the finest books ever to address relations between daughters and their mothers - equal parts love and sandpaper. I ached for these characters and cried at their hard-earned moments of joy. A book to make you marvel that someone really does understand, to make you grateful that she wrote it all down so fiercely, so tenderly." -- Robin Black, author of "If I Loved You I Would Tell You This""Coming of age is a painful and beautiful experience in Natalie Serber's hands. These are funny and poignant pieces, building a book that feels novelistic in sweep, yet true to the precision and direct aim of the short story. A real pleasure." --Antonya Nelson " In the complexities of family triumphs and catastrophes, Natalie Serber is always achingly specific. Between mothers and daughters, women and their lovers, she misses nothing, and in all her scenes, the reader feels the true breath of life." --Charles Baxter "In the tradition of Lorrie Moore and Tobias Wolff, Natalie Serber's stories uncover the secret hearts of seemingly ordinary people. Funny, heart-felt, and keenly perceptive, this is a book worth shouting about." --Dan Chaon, author of "Await Your Reply" and "Stay Awake"

show more