Shogun Scrolls: On Controlling All Aspects of the Realm

Shogun Scrolls: On Controlling All Aspects of the Realm

Hardback

By (author) Stephen F. Kaufman

USD$11.05
List price $21.71
You save $10.66 49% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Tuttle Shokai Inc
  • Format: Hardback | 128 pages
  • Dimensions: 132mm x 191mm x 18mm | 249g
  • Publication date: 14 March 2012
  • Publication City/Country: Kanagawa
  • ISBN 10: 4805311967
  • ISBN 13: 9784805311967
  • Sales rank: 606,453

Product description

"The Shogun's Scroll" offers a look at the samurai strategies and ethics of medieval Japan distilled into language modern readers can relate to and follow. In the tradition of "The Art of War" and "The Book of Five Rings," this book offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo--the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals--this treatise can be used as a guide for personal growth and motivation. The author draws on a lifetime of intimate personal experiences with the philosophy of Japanese martial arts as well as countless historical sources to produce this profound work of docu-fiction. It is essential reading for those interested in martial arts, samurai, military history or Japanese history.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Stephen F. Kaufman, Hanshi, 10th Dan, holder of the highest rank attainable in the martial arts, is an acknowledged "Founding Father" of American Karate. He is also the founder of the widely recognized Dojo No Hebi School of the Snake. The profound insights made apparent in his interpretation of Mushashi's "Book of Five Rings" have been widely acclaimed and have been translated into many languages. Along with his interpretation of Sun Tsu's "Art of war," this volume, "The Shogun's Scroll," goes further in the illumination of accomplishment for those who would seek to master their own lives.