Shogun Scrolls
49%
off

Shogun Scrolls : On Controlling All Aspects of the Realm

By (author) Stephen F. Kaufman

US$10.98US$21.57

You save US$10.59

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

"The Shogun's Scroll" offers a look at the samurai strategies and ethics of medieval Japan distilled into language modern readers can relate to and follow. In the tradition of "The Art of War" and "The Book of Five Rings," this book offers timeless advice on success in war and life. Written in the voice of Hidetomo Nakadai, a late twelfth century scholar and servant in the court of Minamoto Yoritomo--the first shogun of Japan and one of the world's most ruthless generals--this treatise can be used as a guide for personal growth and motivation. The author draws on a lifetime of intimate personal experiences with the philosophy of Japanese martial arts as well as countless historical sources to produce this profound work of docu-fiction. It is essential reading for those interested in martial arts, samurai, military history or Japanese history.

show more
  • Hardback | 128 pages
  • 132.08 x 190.5 x 17.78mm | 249.47g
  • 14 Mar 2012
  • Tuttle Shokai Inc
  • Kanagawa
  • English
  • 4805311967
  • 9784805311967
  • 385,999

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Stephen F. Kaufman, Hanshi, 10th Dan, holder of the highest rank attainable in the martial arts, is an acknowledged "Founding Father" of American Karate. He is also the founder of the widely recognized Dojo No Hebi School of the Snake. The profound insights made apparent in his interpretation of Mushashi's "Book of Five Rings" have been widely acclaimed and have been translated into many languages. Along with his interpretation of Sun Tsu's "Art of war," this volume, "The Shogun's Scroll," goes further in the illumination of accomplishment for those who would seek to master their own lives.

show more