Shadow and Bone

Shadow and Bone

By (author)

List price: US$10.59

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

"The Hunger Games meets Potter meets Twilight meets Lord of the Rings meets Game of Thrones; basically epic magical fantasy but completely for grown-ups." STYLIST MAGAZINE Originally published as The Gathering Dark. The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka. Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom's magical elite - the Grisha. Could she be the key to unravelling the dark fabric of the Shadow Fold and setting Ravka free? The Darkling, a creature of seductive charm and terrifying power, leader of the Grisha. If Alina is to fulfil her destiny, she must discover how to unlock her gift and face up to her dangerous attraction to him. But what of Mal, Alina's childhood best friend? As Alina contemplates her dazzling new future, why can't she ever quite forget him? Glorious. Epic. Irresistible. Romance. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Laini Taylor.

show more
  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 126 x 196 x 26mm | 320g
  • Hachette Children's Group
  • Indigo (an Imprint of Orion Children's)
  • LondonUnited Kingdom
  • English
  • 1780621418
  • 9781780621418
  • 19,304

Other books in Fantasy

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

I can use one word to describe this book and that is "powerful" powerful because its original. Powerful because its eye catching. Powerful because it makes you feel all the emotions that are mentioned in the English dictionary, And powerful because Its made me have a whole new out look and something to look forward to in the future of YA. DARKREADERS When I closed the covers of this book, late at night, I drifted into a vivid dream bursting with midnight blue keftas and beautiful - but blinding - white light. Leigh Bardugo is a master storyteller, who draws you into her richly-imagined world and refuses to release you... even after you've turned the last page. Shadow and Bone has occupied my thoughts - day and night - ever since I began it. FEED ME BOOKS NOW A New York Times bestseller, it's like The Hunger Games meets Potter meets Twilight meets Lord Of The Rings meets Game Of Thrones; basically epic magical fantasy but completely for grown-ups. STYLIST Shadow and Bone is YA fantasy exactly how I like it: deep, epic and full of action and adventure. I fell in love with the story when I was only a few chapters in, and the many twists and turns that followed kept me hooked right until the end. I'm really glad I read this book and I'm even more glad that I have the sequel sat waiting for me. I have no idea where Leigh Bardugo is going with her story, but I can't wait to find out. Read this if you're a fan of fantasy - you won't be disappointed! WONDROUS READS Overall, I loved everything about this book, with there being some seriously unexpected plot twists that kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end. I could hardly put this book down, and am thoroughly looking forward to reading the following books in the trilogy. My only slight complaint is that the book was too short, I wanted more to read! (5 stars) BOOK CHICK CITY ...brilliantly written and truly spellbinding. MIGMAG This book really hooked me, I read it for hours on end just letting the magical story come to life in my mind, it was incredible and I LOVED IT!... The Gathering Dark is a very unique book which will leave you wanting more... it is one of the best books I've ever read. Read, Write and Read Some More The world building is slow, subtle and full. You get a really good idea of the court, and the way the magical society works. It's impossible to place exactly in time and location, but I still really enjoyed it. DEATH, BOOKS AND TEA There is so much to love about this book... Leigh Bardugo knows her stuff. The pacing is superb, the climax is faultless, and the immaculate blend of fantasy, action and romance really did make this book 'unputdownable'. REALM OF FICTION I think I often overuse the word 'unputdownable' when I write reviews, but this is one book which the term definitely applies to! It is dramatic and intriguing, and every twist and turn in the fantastic plot is completely unpredictable. Shadow and Bone is intoxicating, and once you have picked it up it will be glued to your hands until the last page is turned, unless, like me you fall asleep reading it. -- HorseLover3000 GUARDIAN TEEN BOOKS

show more

About Leigh Bardugo

Leigh Bardugo was born in Jerusalem, raised in Los Angeles and graduated from Yale University. She indulges her fondness for glamour, ghouls and costuming in her other life as a make-up artist in Hollywood, and can occasionally be heard singing with her band, Captain Automatic. Visit Leigh's website at

show more

Reviews from