• The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World See large image

    The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World (Paperback) By (author) Peter A. Clayton, By (author) Martin J. Price

    $35.85 - Save $2.89 (7%) - RRP $38.74 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 4 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionSets each of the seven wonders in their historical context, bringing together materials from ancient sources and the results of modern excavations to suggest why particular places and objects have been seen as the touchstone for human achievement.

Other books

Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 11 of 11


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

    The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Peter A. Clayton, By (author) Martin J. Price
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 192
    Width: 140 mm
    Height: 216 mm
    Thickness: 10 mm
    Weight: 204 g
    ISBN 13: 9780415050364
    ISBN 10: 0415050367

    B&T Book Type: NF
    BIC subject category V2: HBG
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: T5.1
    BIC E4L: HIS
    BIC subject category V2: HBLA
    B&T Merchandise Category: TXT
    LC subject heading: , ,
    Ingram Subject Code: LC
    Libri: I-LC
    B&T General Subject: 431
    BISAC V2.8: SOC003000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 15540
    DC20: 930.1
    BISAC V2.8: HIS002000
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 930/.09822
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 930.0982
    LC classification: D80
    LC subject heading: ,
    LC classification: N5333 .C58 1989
    Thema V1.0: NHB, NHC
    Edition statement
    Illustrations note
    illus. 89 plates
    Taylor & Francis Ltd
    Imprint name
    Publication date
    01 September 1990
    Publication City/Country
    Review quote
    "The chapters in this book describe the seven wonders of the ancient world - the Great Pyramids at Giza, the Hanging Gardens at Babylon, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesos, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Pharos (Lighthouse) at Alexandria. Their history, location, purpose, building and description are provided along with many illustrations and drawings. The last chapter gives a list of other monuments which could be considered wonders, and tells why the actual seven wonders of the ancient world were chosen. Recommended reading for all interested in history."-"Frankie's Bibliography "The essays on each Wonder are authoritative and readable. If you are interested in the canonical seven, this is the book for you."-"Archaeology, Jan/Feb 2000
    Back cover copy
    The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World sets the record straight, with an attractive account of each Wonder in the context in which it was built. The Authors combine ancient source with the results to modern scholarship and excavations to recreate a vivid picture of the Seven Wonders