Christmas Posting Dates
The Scorch Trials

The Scorch Trials

Book rating: 05 Hardback Maze Runner Trilogy

By (author) James Dashner

$14.22
List price $17.98
You save $3.76 20% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $8.55
CD-Audio $30.89
  • Publisher: Bantam Doubleday Dell
  • Format: Hardback | 361 pages
  • Dimensions: 148mm x 208mm x 32mm | 481g
  • Publication date: 12 October 2010
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 0385738757
  • ISBN 13: 9780385738750
  • Sales rank: 13,261

Product description

Read the second book in the #1 "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series that is soon to be a motion picture, hitting theaters September 18, 2015, and is perfect for fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent." The first book, "The Maze Runner," is now a movie featuring the star of MTV's "Teen Wolf," Dylan O'Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster! Also look for James Dashner's newest novels, "The Eye of Minds" and "The Rule of Thoughts," the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series. "Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. " Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn't done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch. "There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die." The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch--the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them. "Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off. " There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers' destruction--and they're determined to survive. Praise for the Maze Runner series: "[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of "Lord of the Flies," "The Hunger Games," and "Lost.""--EW.com "Wonderful action writing--fast-paced...but smart and well observed."--"Newsday" "[A] nail-biting must-read."--Seventeen.com "Breathless, cinematic action." --"Publishers Weekly" "Heart-pounding to the very last moment." --"Kirkus Reviews" "Exclamation-worthy." --"Romantic Times" [STAR] "James Dashner's illuminating prequel ["The Kill Order"] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."--"Shelf Awareness," Starred

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

James Dashner is the author of the #1 "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series: "The Maze Runner," "The Scorch Trials," "The Death Cure," and "The Kill Order," as well as "The Eye of Minds "and "The Rule of Thoughts, "the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series. Dashner was born and raised in Georgia, but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com, follow @jamesdashner on Twitter, and find dashnerjames on Instagram.

Customer reviews

By Lydia Presley 04 Nov 2010 5

After reading The Maze Runner by James Dashner earlier this year, it was inevitable that I would hurry to pick up The Scorch Trials. Before doing so, however, I refreshed my memory with another read-through of The Maze Runner... and I think I liked it even more the second time around.

With The Scorch Trials I found it easier to adapt to the world and the "variables" being thrown at Thomas and his crew, mostly because of how The Maze Runner had prepared me for them. Dashner does a fantastic job of building the tension and then, just when it gets to the breaking point, throwing in something so random, so out of the blue, that the tension subsides and starts to build in another, different way.

What makes The Scorch Trials so different from The Maze Runner is - now that the kids know who WICKED is, they have a bit more knowledge of what is going on - but that still doesn't mean that this book will make complete sense to you, as it doesn't to them. And that is what makes the book so much fun.

There is plenty of action, plenty of excitement and I grew even more attached to these characters, these teenagers struggling in a world where hope seems so dead.

I cannot wait to get my hands on the last book in this trilogy and next year cannot come soon enough. I haven't felt this much anticipation for a book since Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins - and while the books are somewhat similar, I really appreciate the teamwork Dashner has chosen to implement in The Maze Runner trilogy and think he's doing a fantastic job of telling his story.

Review quote

Praise for the Maze Runner series: A #1 "New York Times" Bestselling Series A "USA Today" Bestseller A Book Sense Bestseller An Indie Next List Selection A "Kirkus Reviews" Best Teen Book of the Year An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick "[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of "Lord of the Flies," "The Hunger Games," and "Lost.""--EW.com "Wonderful action writing--fast-paced...but smart and well observed."--"Newsday" "[A] nail-biting must-read."--Seventeen.com "Breathless, cinematic action."--"Publishers Weekly" "Heart pounding to the very last moment."--"Kirkus Reviews" "Exclamation-worthy."--"Romantic Times" * "James Dashner's illuminating prequel ["The Kill Order"] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."--"Shelf Awareness," Starred "Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book."--"Deseret News"