• Saving Francesca See large image

    Saving Francesca (Paperback) By (author) Melina Marchetta

    05

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $8.08 - Save $0.92 10% off - RRP $9.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    CD-Audio $12.99

    DescriptionBefore there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of "If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, " and "Looking for Alaska." Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian's, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca--until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and--hardest of all--herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of "Jellicoe Road," as well as "Looking for Alibrandi" and "Finnikin of the Rock." "From the Hardcover edition."


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Saving Francesca

    Title
    Saving Francesca
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Melina Marchetta
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 243
    Width: 132 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 20 mm
    Weight: 227 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780375829833
    ISBN 10: 0375829830
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN, F13+
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: Y2.2
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 22500
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Merchandise Category: JUV
    B&T General Subject: 217
    B&T Book Type: JF
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    LC subject heading:
    BIC subject category V2: YXK, YF
    LC subject heading: , ,
    Ingram Subject Code: CK
    Libri: I-CK
    Ingram Theme: TOPC/FRIEND
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: X11824000
    BISAC V2.8: JUV039100, JUV039240
    LC subject heading: , , ,
    LC classification: PZ7.M32855 SAV 2006
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: JUV013000, JUV014000
    BISAC region code: 6.0.1.0.2.0.0
    Thema V1.0: YFB, YXK
    Edition statement
    Reprint
    Publisher
    Random House USA Inc
    Imprint name
    Random House Inc
    Publication date
    09 May 2006
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    Melina Marchetta lives in Sydney, Australia, where she is a teacher. She is also the author of "Looking for Alibrandi," which received numerous awards and was released as a major Australian film. "Saving Francesca" is her second novel.
    Review quote
    "Sparkling dialogue and engaging characters...Francesca's messy, credible array of emotions and problems will keep readers absorbed to the last, satisfying line."--"Kirkus Reviews," Starred "A rich exploration of maturation, identity, family, and friendship." "--The Bulletin, "Starred "Readers will applaud the realistic complexity in the relationships here, the genuine love between the characters, as well as Francesca's ultimate decision to save herself."--"Publishers Weekly," Starred "Teens will relate to this tender novel and will take to heart its solid messages and realistic treatment of a very real problem."--"School Library Journal," Starred "From the Hardcover edition."
    Flap copy
    "MOST OF MY friends now go to Pius Senior College, but my mother wouldn't allow it because she says the girls there leave with limited options and she didn't bring me up to have limitations placed upon me. If you know my mother, you'll sense there's an irony there, based on the fact that she is the Queen of the Limitation Placers in my life. Francesca battles her mother, Mia, constantly over what's best for her. All Francesca wants is her old friends and her old school, but instead Mia sends her to St. Sebastian's, an all-boys' school that has just opened its doors to girls. Now Francesca's surrounded by hundreds of boys, with only a few other girls for company. All of them weirdos--or worse. Then one day, Mia is too depressed to get out of bed. One day turns into months, and as her family begins to fall apart, Francesca realizes that without her mother's high spirits, she hardly knows who she is. But she doesn't yet realize that she's more like Mia than she thinks. With a little unlikely help from St. Sebastian's, she just might be able to save her family, her friends, and--especially--herself. "From the Hardcover edition.