Saving Francesca

Saving Francesca

By (author)


You save US$0.47

Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of "If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, " and "Looking for Alaska." Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and hardest of all herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of "Jellicoe Road," as well as "Looking for Alibrandi" and "Finnikin of the Rock.""

show more
  • Paperback | 243 pages
  • 132.1 x 198.1 x 20.3mm | 226.8g
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Random House Inc
  • New YorkUnited States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0375829830
  • 9780375829833
  • 6,665

Other books in Fiction

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"A rich exploration of maturation, identity, family, and friendship." "--The Bulletin, "Starred

show more

Flap copy

"MOST OF MY friends now go to Pius Senior College, but my mother wouldn't allow it because she says the girls there leave with limited options and she didn't bring me up to have limitations placed upon me. If you know my mother, you'll sense there's an irony there, based on the fact that she is the Queen of the Limitation Placers in my life. Francesca battles her mother, Mia, constantly over what's best for her. All Francesca wants is her old friends and her old school, but instead Mia sends her to St. Sebastian's, an all-boys' school that has just opened its doors to girls. Now Francesca's surrounded by hundreds of boys, with only a few other girls for company. All of them weirdos--or worse. Then one day, Mia is too depressed to get out of bed. One day turns into months, and as her family begins to fall apart, Francesca realizes that without her mother's high spirits, she hardly knows who she is. But she doesn't yet realize that she's more like Mia than she thinks. With a little unlikely help from St. Sebastian's, she just might be able to save her family, her friends, and--especially--herself. "From the Hardcover edition.

show more

About Melina Marchetta

Melina Marchetta lives in Sydney, Australia, where she is a teacher. She is also the author of "Looking for Alibrandi," which received numerous awards and was released as a major Australian film. "Saving Francesca" is her second novel.

show more

Reviews from