• The Rise of the Iron Moon See large image

    The Rise of the Iron Moon (Paperback) By (author) Stephen Hunt

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $10.33 - Save $2.57 19% off - RRP $12.90 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionFrom the author of The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves comes a thrilling new adventure set in the same Victorian-style world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Susanna Clarke. Born into captivity as a product of the Royal Breeding House, friendless orphan Purity Drake suddenly finds herself on the run with a foreign vagrant after accidentally killing one of her guards. Her strange rescuer claims he is on the run himself from terrible forces who mean to enslave the Kingdom of Jackals as they conquered his own nation. Purity doubts his story, until reports begin to filter through from Jackals' neighbours of the terrible Army of Shadows, marching across the continent and sweeping all before them. But there's more to Purity than meets the eye. As Jackals girds itself for war against an army of near-unkillable beasts serving an ancient evil with a terrible secret, it soon becomes clear that their only hope is a strange little royalist girl and the last, desperate plan of an escaped slave.


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Rise of the Iron Moon

    Title
    The Rise of the Iron Moon
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Stephen Hunt
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 464
    Width: 130 mm
    Height: 197 mm
    Thickness: 30 mm
    Weight: 320 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780007232239
    ISBN 10: 0007232233
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: FAN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.2
    BIC subject category V2: FM
    DC22: 813.54, 823.92
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21300
    Ingram Subject Code: FA
    BISAC V2.8: FIC009020
    Thema V1.0: FM
    Publisher
    HarperCollins Publishers
    Imprint name
    HarperVoyager
    Publication date
    03 September 2009
    Publication City/Country
    London
    Author Information
    Stephen Hunt has worked as a writer, editor and publisher for a number of magazines and national newspaper groups in the UK, and is currently employed on an artificial intelligence project. He is also the founder of www.SFcrowsnest.com, one of the oldest and most popular fan-run science fiction and fantasy websites, with nearly three quarters of a million readers each month. Born in Canada, the author presently lives in London, as well as spending part of the year with his family in Spain
    Review quote
    Praise for THE RISE OF THE IRON MOON: 'All manner of bizarre and fantastical extravagance.' Daily Mail 'Hunt's imagination is probably visible from space. He scatters concepts that other writers would mine for a trilogy like chocolate-bar wrappers. This is Philip Pullman with a dose of benzedrine. Hold on to your hat and let yourself get carried away.' Tom Holt, SFX Praise for Stephen Hunt: 'A ripping yarn ! the story pounds along ! constant inventiveness keeps the reader hooked ! the finale is a cracking succession of cliffhangers and surprise comebacks. Great fun' SFX 'An inventive, ambitious work, full of wonders and marvels' Lisa Tuttle, The Times 'The characters are convincing and colourful, but the real achievement is the setting, a hellish take on Victorian London ! the depth and complexity of Hunt's vision makes it compulsive reading for all ages' Guardian 'Wonderfully assured ! Hunt knows what his audience like and gives it to them with a sardonic wit and carefully developed tension' Time Out 'Studded with invention' Independent 'Rich and colourful !keeps you engrossed !a confident, audacious novel' SFX 'Like a magpie, Stephen Hunt has plucked colourful events from history and politics and used them for inspiration ! Hunts tells his full-blooded tale with lip-smacking relish, revealing a vivid, often gruesome imagination ! [it] brims with originality and, from the first, its chase-filled plot never lets up' Starburst