• Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In) See large image

    Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In) (Paperback) By (author) Elizabeth Wurtzel

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $14.11 - Save $2.89 17% off - RRP $17.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Description"A book that became a cultural touchstone." -- "The New Yorker" Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of "Girl, Interrupted "and Sylvia Plath's "The Bell Jar."


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In)

    Title
    Prozac Nation (Movie Tie-In)
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Elizabeth Wurtzel
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 384
    Width: 130 mm
    Height: 203 mm
    Thickness: 28 mm
    Weight: 590 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781573229623
    ISBN 10: 1573229628
    Classifications

    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21600
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    B&T Book Type: NF
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 03
    Ingram Subject Code: BA
    Libri: I-BA
    DC22: B
    BISAC V2.8: BIO022000
    BISAC Merchandising Theme: TP090
    Ingram Theme: SEXL/FEMINE
    BISAC V2.8: FIC021000, SEL011000
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: 616.85/27/0092
    LC subject heading: , ,
    LC classification: RC537 .W87 2002
    Edition statement
    Riverhead Trade.
    Publisher
    Riverhead Books
    Imprint name
    Riverhead Books
    Publication date
    02 April 2002
    Publication City/Country
    New York, NY
    Author Information
    Elizabeth Wurtzel is the author of bestselling books including "Prozac Nation, ""Bitch, " and "More, Now, Again." A Harvard and Yale Law School graduate whose work has appeared in such publications as "The New Yorker, ""New York, ""The Guardian, " and "The Oxford American, " she lives in New York City.
    Review quote
    "Wrenching and comical, self-indulgent and self-aware, Prozac Nation possesses the raw candor of Joan Didion's essays, the irritating emotional exhibitionism of Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar, and the wry, dark humor of a Bob Dylan song."—The New York Times "[Wurtzel] is smart, she is funny...she is thoughtful and...she is very, very brave. Wurtzel portrays, from the inside out, an emotional life perpetually spent outrunning the relentless pursuit of what she describes as a black wave, often sacrificing her likability on the altar of her truth."—Vanity Fair "A very important book, particularly to the countless number of people who aren't sure what's wrong with them but are suffering from the negative thinking, erratic behavior, and dark moods associated with clinical depression. A powerful self-portrait...well worth reading"—San Francisco Bay Guardian "The saddest, funniest, and ultimately, most triumphant book about youthful depression I've come across. It reads like a mixture of J.D. Salinger and Sylvia Plath, with some Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen thrown in for good measure...[Wurtzel] is one canny and entertaining observer of her generation: if you've been wondering why Kurt Cobain meant what he did—what it feels like to be young, gifted, and black of spirit—this book is the CD, tape, video, and literary answer all in one."—Daphne Merkin, author of Enchantment "A very good book, maybe even an important one, and the pain and despair Wurtzel describes are as real as they are excruciatingly rendered."—Mademoiselle