Prozac Nation
18%
off

Prozac Nation

By (author) Elizabeth Wurtzel

US$13.80US$17.00

You save US$3.20

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

"Abook that became a cultural touchstone." -- "The New Yorker" Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosedgeneration whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues.In this famousmemoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of "Girl, Interrupted "andSylvia Plath's "The Bell Jar." "

show more
  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 129.54 x 203.2 x 27.94mm | 589.67g
  • 02 Apr 2002
  • Penguin Publishing Group
  • Riverhead Books
  • New York, NY
  • English
  • Riverhead Trade.
  • 1573229628
  • 9781573229623
  • 43,623

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Elizabeth Wurtzel is the author of bestselling books including"Prozac Nation, " "Bitch, " and "More, Now, Again." A Harvard and Yale Law School graduate whose work has appeared in such publications as "The New Yorker, " "New York, " "The Guardian, " and "The Oxford American, " she lives in New York City."

show more

Review quote

"Wrenching and comical, self-indulgent and self-aware, Prozac Nation possesses the raw candor of Joan Didion's essays, the irritating emotional exhibitionism of Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar, and the wry, dark humor of a Bob Dylan song."&#151The New York Times"[Wurtzel] is smart, she is funny...she is thoughtful and...she is very, very brave. Wurtzel portrays, from the inside out, an emotional life perpetually spent outrunning the relentless pursuit of what she describes as a black wave, often sacrificing her likability on the altar of her truth."&#151Vanity Fair"A very important book, particularly to the countless number of people who aren't sure what's wrong with them but are suffering from the negative thinking, erratic behavior, and dark moods associated with clinical depression. A powerful self-portrait...well worth reading"&#151San Francisco Bay Guardian"The saddest, funniest, and ultimately, most triumphant book about youthful depression I've come across. It reads like a mixture of J.D. Salinger and Sylvia Plath, with some Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen thrown in for good measure...[Wurtzel] is one canny and entertaining observer of her generation: if you've been wondering why Kurt Cobain meant what he did&#151what it feels like to be young, gifted, and black of spirit&#151this book is the CD, tape, video, and literary answer all in one."&#151Daphne Merkin, author of Enchantment"A very good book, maybe even an important one, and the pain and despair Wurtzel describes are as real as they are excruciatingly rendered."&#151Mademoiselle

show more