• Pigeon Summer See large image

    Pigeon Summer (Paperback) By (author) Ann Turnbull

    $6.83 - Save $2.84 29% off - RRP $9.67 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 3 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionTimes are hard but a young girl clings to her dreams in this powerful and poignant historical novel. It is 1930, the height of the Great Depression. Mary Dyer's father has left home in search of work, leaving his beloved racing pigeons in Mary's care - much to her mother's disapproval. During that long, hard summer there is barely enough money for bread, let alone pigeon feed, yet Mary clings to her dreams of racing glory, propelling her into ever deeper conflict with her mother. This is the first engaging novel in the Pigeon Summer trilogy, following the fortunes of the Dyer children, Mary, Lennie and Doreen, growing up in a Shropshire mining town before and during World War II. It was shortlisted for the 1992 Smarties Book Prize and the WH Smith Mind Boggling Books Award, as well as being dramatized for TV and radio.

Other books

Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 11 of 11


Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Pigeon Summer

    Pigeon Summer
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Ann Turnbull
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 128
    Width: 129 mm
    Height: 198 mm
    Thickness: 14 mm
    Weight: 123 g
    ISBN 13: 9781406352498
    ISBN 10: 1406352497

    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: Y2.1
    BIC E4L: F9+
    BIC reading level and special interest qualifier V2: 5AK
    BIC children’s book marketing category: D3N79
    BIC subject category V2: YFN
    BIC E4L: FAM
    BIC subject category V2: 5AK
    BISAC V2.8: JUV013000
    DC23: 823.914
    Walker Books Ltd
    Imprint name
    Walker Books Ltd
    Publication date
    02 January 2014
    Publication City/Country
    Author Information
    Ann Turnbull has always loved reading and knew from the age of ten that she wanted to be a writer. Her numerous books for young readers include No Friend of Mine, Room for a Stranger, Alice in Love and War, as well as her Quaker trilogy - No Shame, No Fear (shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Book Award and Whitbread Award) Forged in the Fire and Seeking Eden. For younger children, she has also written Greek Myths, illustrated by Sarah Young. Ann lives in Madeley, near Telford, Shropshire.
    Review quote
    "A wonderfully moving story... I would recommend it to anyone." (Independent on Sunday) "Buoyant, direct and unsentimental." (Guardian)"