Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

By (author)

US$8.49US$8.99

You save US$0.50

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

Description

Wealth. Privilege. Way too many pastel-tinted opinions. That is Carly s life, and . . . It s. Getting. On. Her. Nerves. Carly is ready to ditch the southern princess act and become real. The thing is, she s always counted on her little sister, Anna, to love and support her and tell her how right she is. But when Anna turns hot over the course of a single summer, everything goes weird. Suddenly Anna s swimming in the deep end with the big girls while Carly watches from the kiddie pool, alone. Carly s always relied on the constancy of her sister, but now everything is different, and she s not so sure she likes it."

show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 292 pages
  • 140 x 206 x 24mm | 281.23g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • SPEAK
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142415278
  • 9780142415276
  • 340,168

Review quote

"A must-read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Justina Chen Headley." - "Booklist"

show more

About Lauren Myracle

Lauren Myracle is theauthor of many popular books for teens and tweens, including "New York Times" bestsellers "ttyl" and "ttfn"(Abrams). She lives with her family in Fort Collins, Colorado.

show more

Customer reviews

Carly and Anna are two sisters who are very close in age, but very far apart in personality. Carly is a sophomore in high school who is very skinny after spending six weeks of the summer working outdoors in Tennessee. She wants to be different than the "Barbies" (as she calls them) at her preppy Catholic School. Anna is a freshman in high school who suddenly grew a large chest over the summer, has all the right curves, and is beautiful. All of the boys want her, but she is seen as a sex object. PEACE, LOVE, & BABY DUCKS deals with their relationship and the trials of high school life. I read this book in one sitting. I really could identify with parts of both Carly and Anna. I could totally understand how Carly wanted to be different and wanted to be accepted for that. But I could also see how Anna didn't want to be different and wanted Carly to accept HER for that. This was a great sisterly story (it made me wish I had a sister). I found myself laughing out loud at a bunch of what the sisters said. There was also a great love story with Carly. Who should she choose - the cool, guitar-playing Cole, or the always there for her, Dutch Roger? And I loved all the ducky references. Overall, a really cute teeny-bopper story!show more
by Margaret Soldani