Paperboy

Paperboy

Hardback

By (author) Vince Vawter

$12.82
List price $17.00
You save $4.18 24% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $9.50
CD-Audio $34.88
  • Publisher: DELACORTE BOOKS FOR YOUNG READERS
  • Format: Hardback | 240 pages
  • Dimensions: 146mm x 212mm x 24mm | 318g
  • Publication date: 15 May 2013
  • ISBN 10: 0385742444
  • ISBN 13: 9780385742443
  • Sales rank: 29,553

Product description

"Reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird."" --"Booklist, " Starred "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" --ROB BUYEA, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again" This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird, ""The King's Speech, " and "The Help." A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life. Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life. A Newbery Honor Award Winner An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice An IRA Teachers' Choice A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book A "BookPage" Best Children's Book An ABC New Voices Pick A Junior Library Guild Selection An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook "[Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" --"The Washington Post" ""Paperboy" offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." --Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America "[A] tense, memorable story." --"Publishers Weekly, " Starred "An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." --"Kirkus Reviews" "Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." --"School Library Journal"

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

VINCE VAWTER, a native of Memphis, retired after a forty-year career in newspapers, most recently as the president and publisher of the "Evansville Courier & Press" in Indiana. "Paperboy" is his first novel.

Review quote

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, March 18, 2013: "[A] tense, memorable story." Starred Review, Booklist, April 15, 2013: "The well-crafted characters, the hot Southern summer, and the coming-of-age events are reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird.".. This paper boy is a fighter and his hope fortifies and satisfies in equal measure." "An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it."--Rob Buyea, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again" " """Paperboy" offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story as I did, but it will be particularly meaningful to anyone who has ever struggled with stuttering."--J"aneFraser, " president of The Stuttering Foundation of America "[A] compelling first-person narrative." --The Washington Post "A memorable coming-of-age novel." --School Library Journal "In a compelling climax, he, still stuttering, proudly announces his real name; the moment is as eloquent as his story." --"The Horn Book"