Out from Boneville

Out from Boneville

By (author)


Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days

When will my order arrive?

The first book in Jeff Smith's "New York Times" bestselling, award-winning graphic novel series featuring an unlikely hero who must save an idyllic valley from the forces of evil. After being run out of Boneville, the three Bone cousins -- Fone Bone, Phoney Bone, and Smiley Bone -- are separated and lost in a vast, uncharted desert. One by one, they find their way into a deep, forested valley filled with wonderful and terrifying creatures. Eventually, the cousins are reunited at a farmstead run by tough Gran'ma Ben and her spirited granddaughter, Thorn. But little do the Bones know, there are dark forces conspiring against them and their adventures are only just beginning!

show more
  • Paperback | 144 pages
  • 149.86 x 226.06 x 15.24mm | 226.8g
  • Scholastic US
  • New YorkUnited States
  • English
  • 0439706408
  • 9780439706407
  • 16,599

Other books in Graphic Novels

Other people who viewed this bought:

Review quote

"Charming, character-driven fantasy with an elegant design and masterful story-telling in the tradition of Walt Kelly, Charles Schulz and Carl Barks." -- PW "Like Pogo, BONE has whimsy best appreciated by adults, yet kids can enjoy it, too; and like Barks' Disney Duck stories, BONE moves from brash humor to gripping adventure in a single panel." -- ALA Booklist "Bone has the multi-level writing and artwork of the best Chuck Jones cartoons or early Disney movies. It's overflowing with subtext about conflicting philosophies of power, cultural imperialism and political responsibility - though not enough to get in the way of its silly fun." - CMJ New Music Monthly "One of the best kid's comics ever." - Vibe Magazine ..".Sprawling, mythic comic is spectacular." - Spin Magazine " I love BONE! BONE is great!" - Matt Groening "Jeff Smith can pace a joke better than almost anyone in comics; his dialogue is delightful -- so are all his people, not to mention his animals, his villains, and even his bugs." -- Neil Gaiman

show more

About Jeff Smith

Jeff Smith is the creator of the award-winning, "New York Times" bestselling BONE series. He was born and raised in the American Midwest and learned about cartooning from comic strips, comic books, and TV animation. Visit him online at www.boneville.com.

show more

Customer reviews

An amazing innovative adventure comic book (and story). The whole story of the 3 bone-guys and their adventure is very intresting and funny.The "cherry" in the top of the "cake" is that the whole series are now colourized in the scholastic edition. Highly recommended!! (Now i'm finishing the 2nd vol. and the story becomes even more intresting and funny than the 1st vol.)show more
by Dominick
Reason for Reading: One of my goals this year is to finally read this series! So, here I go! Volume One of the Bone series was everything I had hoped it would be. This has been on my must read list ever since Scholastic came out with the colourized editions, so that would make it six years of getting around to it. Happy to say I was not disappointed. The characters are adorable. The writing is funny, even witty, and an interesting journey has begun with a bad guy after one of our heroes for unknown reasons at this point. The Bone cousins, Phoney, Fone and Smiley have been run out of Boneville, crossed the desert, get lost in the mountains and are separated. We follow Fone Bone, who I believe is our hero, as he is certainly the most likable of the three, as he finds a valley and meets the people and creatures there while he searches for his missing cousins. So far my favourite characters are Fone, of course, Ted the bug, Gran'ma Ben and the Red Dragon. Sometimes when one has heard nothing but praise for a book (or series) over the years, once you actually get to reading it yourself there is a bit of a letdown. I'm pleased to say that Bone, from the start, has lived up to it's expectations. Can't wait to start reading Vol. 2.show more
by Nicola Mansfield