Christmas Posting Dates
The Originals

The Originals

Book rating: 03 Paperback

By (author) Cat Patrick

$9.38
List price $12.52
You save $3.14 25% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
Hardback $13.10
  • Publisher: Electric Monkey
  • Format: Paperback | 304 pages
  • Dimensions: 129mm x 198mm x 23mm | 214g
  • Publication date: 6 May 2013
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 1405264594
  • ISBN 13: 9781405264594
  • Sales rank: 45,213

Product description

Delicious, yearning romance with a twist for fans of Lauren Kate, Allie Condie, and Cassandra Clare from the author behind Forgotten and Revived. I glance at the three baby portraits. I feel a familiar prickling on the back of my neck. Because I know there's another picture somewhere - and the baby in that photo looks identical to the babies on the wall. Somewhere, there's a photo of the Original. Ella, Betsey and I look like sisters: triplets, you might think. But that's not what we are at all. We are clones in hiding. We split our lives and exist as one person in the outside world. And we've always been happy. But now I've fallen head-over-heels in love ...and that changes everything. Because, to let love in, I need to be allowed to be Me. A brilliant hook, a tantalizing romance story and a seriously gorgeous heartthrob, The Originals is a must-read book for young adults. Praise for Forgotten and Revived: 'I'm in love. With a book. And its name is Forgotten. I was completely blown away by it' - A Dream of Books, 'A mind-bending experience that I devoured in one sitting ...It still haunts me' - Jay Asher, author of Thirteen Reasons Why, 'Entertaining and suspenseful ...There is not a dull moment in this novel' - VOYA starred review of Revived.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

The Originals is Cat Patrick's third novel for young adults; her previous books were the highly acclaimed Forgotten and Revived. Cat lives near Seattle with her husband and twin daughters. When she's not writing, she's playing dress-up, using wind as her superpower, trying new restaurants or planning for a zombie apocalypse. Connect with Cat at www.catpatrick.com. on Facebook or on Twitter at @seecatwrite.

Customer reviews

By Kate @ Fictional Thoughts 25 Aug 2013 3

Three girls, one life. For the past decade Lizzie, Betsey and Ella have been sharing the life of Elizabeth Best. One taking the morning shift, one the afternoon and the final girl being the one to take the evenings. But Lizzie is sick of having their mother control their every move. Each taking a third of the same life with none of them getting to live their own life at all. But this is the way things have been for years and their mother says it's for their own protection - that no one can know they aren't sisters but rather clones. When Lizzie falls in love with Sean she doesn't want to share him with her sisters or be forced to "date" the boy their mother chose for them. So it's time to find out just who they're hiding from and what secrets their mother has been hiding from them...

The idea behind this book is brilliant. Ella, Betsey and Lizzie all sharing the one life and only being allowed to leave the house when their mother permits it. I've not read many books regarding clones and I loved how Cat Patrick approached the subject. I loved that the girls are the same and yet so completely different from each other.

Lizzie is a great narrator. She's sweet and trying to navigate life the best way she knows how. A bit difficult when you only get a few hours each day outside. But somehow Lizzie manages to fit in with society and set herself aside from her sisters. Sean is adorable but a little too accepting and perfect to be entirely real. Betsey and Ella are fantastic at supporting Lizzie and showing how their circumstances effect all three girls. I would have loved to have read parts of this book from the sister's perspectives but even just with Lizzie's thoughts this book is complete and interesting.

I loved how the characters grew throughout this book and how the plot developed as the girls learned more about where they came from and who they were. There's a lot of mystery and tension as things get revealed and secrets come out. Sean was a great catalyst for the triplets searching for the truth and their own lives. I felt a little let down by the ending but the build up and characters more than made up for it.

I've not read a Cat Patrick book before but after reading the Originals and enjoying her writing style - I'll be looking forward to reading her other books.

Review quote

"'I'm in love. With a book. And its name is Forgotten. I was completely blown away by it.' (A Dream of Books) 'A mind-bending experience that I devoured in one sitting... 'It still haunts me.' (Jay Asher, author of Thirteen Reasons Why) 'Entertaining and suspenseful... There is not a dull moment in this novel.' (VOYA starred review of Revived.)"

Table of contents

ENG