On Grief & Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss

On Grief & Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief Through the Five Stages of Loss


By (author) Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, By (author) David Kessler, Foreword by Maria Shriver

List price $16.00
You save $4.79 29% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
  • Format: Paperback | 237 pages
  • Dimensions: 137mm x 211mm x 18mm | 249g
  • Publication date: 12 August 2014
  • Publication City/Country: New York
  • ISBN 10: 1476775559
  • ISBN 13: 9781476775555
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Sales rank: 26,303

Product description

Ten years after the death of Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, this commemorative edition of her final book combines practical wisdom, case studies, and the authors' own experiences and spiritual insight to explain how the process of grieving helps us live with loss. Includes a new introduction and resources section. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross's "On Death and Dying" changed the way we talk about the end of life. Before her own death in 2004, she and David Kessler completed "On Grief and Grieving," which looks at the way we experience the process of grief. Just as "On Death and Dying" taught us the five stages of death--denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance--"On Grief and Grieving" applies these stages to the grieving process and weaves together theory, inspiration, and practical advice, including sections on sadness, hauntings, dreams, isolation, and healing. This is "a fitting finale and tribute to the acknowledged expert on end-of-life matters" ("Good Housekeeping").

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, MD, (1926-2004) was a Swiss-born psychiatrist, humanitarian, and co-founder of the hospice movement around the world. She was also the author of the groundbreaking book "On Death and Dying," which first discussed The Five Stages of Grief. Elisabeth authored twenty-four books in thirty-six languages and brought comfort to millions of people coping with their own deaths or the death of a loved one. Her greatest professional legacy includes teaching the practice of humane care for the dying and the importance of sharing unconditional love. Her work continues by the efforts of hundreds of organizations around the world, including The Elisabeth Kubler-Ross Foundation: EKRFoundation.org. David Kessler is the coauthor of "Life Lessons: Two Experts on Death and Dying Teach Us About the Mysteries of Life and Living." On his own, he is the author of "The Needs of the Dying," which received praise from Mother Teresa and has been translated into eleven languages. He is a nationally recognized leader in the field of hospice and palliative care.

Review quote

"Elisabeth Kubler-Ross left us one last gift, and it's a masterpiece. She and grief expert David Kessler have written a modern classic, the kind of book that all of us will want to keep on our bookshelves because we know it speaks to our deepest hearts." -- Marianne Williamson