No Biking in the House Without a Helmet

No Biking in the House Without a Helmet

Paperback

By (author) Melissa Fay Greene

$12.36
List price $15.00
You save $2.64 17% off

Free delivery worldwide
Available
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Additional formats available

Format
CD-Audio $24.42
  • Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
  • Format: Paperback | 368 pages
  • Dimensions: 145mm x 218mm x 28mm | 431g
  • Publication date: 24 April 2012
  • ISBN 10: 0374533385
  • ISBN 13: 9780374533380
  • Sales rank: 439,232

Product description

When the two-time National Book Award finalist Melissa Fay Greene confided to friends that she and her husband planned to adopt a four-year-old boy from Bulgaria to add to their four children at home, the news threatened to place her, she writes, "among the greats: the Kennedys, the McCaughey septuplets, the von Trapp family singers, and perhaps even Mrs. Feodor Vassilyev, who, according to the "Guinness Book of World Records," gave birth to sixty-nine children in eighteenth-century Russia." Greene is best known for her books on the civil rights movement and the African HIV/AIDS pandemic. But she and her husband have also pursued a more private vocation: parenthood. "We so loved raising our four children by birth, we didn't want to stop. When the clock started to run down on the home team, we brought in ringers." A celebration of parenthood; an ingathering of children, through birth and out of loss and bereavement; a relishing of moments hilarious and enlightening--"No Biking in the House Without a Helmet" is a loving portrait of a unique twenty-first-century family as it wobbles between disaster and joy.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Melissa Fay Greene is the author of "Praying for Sheetrock," "The Temple Bombing," "Last Man Out," and "There Is No Me Without You." Two of her books have been finalists for the National Book Award, and New York University's journalism department named "Praying for Sheetrock" one of the top one hundred works of journalism in the twentieth century. She has written for "The New Yorker," "The Washington Post," "The New York Times Magazine," "Atlantic Monthly," "Good Housekeeping," "Newsweek," "Life," "Reader's Digest," "Redbook," and "Salon," among others. She and her husband, Don Samuel, have nine children and live in Atlanta.

Review quote

"Love knows no bounds--and no borders--in journalist Greene's ebullient valentine to her family of nine children . . . 'Who made "you" the Old Woman Who Lives in a Shoe?' a friend quips, but Greene doesn't apologize. Instead, she shows what it means to knit together a family that 'steers by the light . . . of what feels right and true.'" --Caroline Leavitt, "People "(four stars) "Readers . . . will find plenty of hilarity in this romping account of [Greene's] boisterous brood . . . [she] brings her well-honed research and reporting skills to this very personal story . . . this joy--experiencing it and conveying it to readers--is her greatest success." --Suki Casanave, "The Washington Post """No Biking in the House Without a Helmet "is [Melissa Fay Greene's] sprawling, imperfect, courageous and joyful account of the adoption process, warts and all--the heart-wrenching trips to orphanages, frustrating delays, visits with living relatives, and the way her family welcomed and made room for each child, as well as the inevitable homesickness and culture clashes and sometimes rocky emotional terrain . . . The moral of her story? Just the opposite of the title's warning. Don't be afraid to break the rules, to 'steer by the light of what makes us laugh, what makes us feel good'--especially if it means biking in the house, with or without a helmet. With deep compassion, sparkling humor and an unshakable faith in the power of the whoopee cushion, she leads the way." --Gina Webb, "Atlanta Journal-Constitution ""Moving, enlightening, and surprisingly funny ... "No Biking in the House Without a Helmet" ... folds an adoption primer into a meditation on family."" --"Sara Nelson," O, The Oprah Magazine ""Joyful and big-hearted . . . This funny and frankly personal book is a departure for Greene, whose previous work has been sober and measured. The title sounds like a madcap domestic comedy in the tradition of Jean Kerr and Erma Bombeck, which it somet