Christmas Posting Dates
No Biking in the House Without a Helmet

No Biking in the House Without a Helmet

Hardback

By (author) Melissa Fay Greene

List price $26.01

Unavailable - AbeBooks may have this title.

Additional formats available

Format
Paperback $12.05
CD-Audio $26.98
  • Publisher: Sarah Crichton Books
  • Format: Hardback | 354 pages
  • Dimensions: 162mm x 235mm x 30mm | 585g
  • Publication date: 12 April 2011
  • Publication City/Country: New York, NY
  • ISBN 10: 0374223068
  • ISBN 13: 9780374223069
  • Illustrations note: black & white illustrations
  • Sales rank: 828,004

Product description

Dispatches from the new front lines of parenthood When the two-time National Book Award finalist Melissa Fay Greene confided to friends that she and her husband planned to adopt a four-year-old boy from Bulgaria to add to their four children at home, the news threatened to place her, she writes, "among the greats: the Kennedys, the McCaughey septuplets, the von Trapp family singers, and perhaps even Mrs. Feodor Vassilyev, who, according to the Guinness Book of World Records, gave birth to sixty-nine children in eighteenth-century Russia." Greene is best known for her books on the civil rights movement and the African HIV/AIDS pandemic. She's been praised for her "historian's urge for accuracy," her "sociologist's sense of social nuance," and her "writerly passion for the beauty of language." But Melissa and her husband have also pursued a more private vocation: parenthood. "We so loved raising our four children by birth, we didn't want to stop. When the clock started to run down on the home team, we brought in ringers." When the number of children hit nine, Greene took a break from reporting. She trained her journalist's eye upon events at home. Fisseha was riding a bike down the basement stairs; out on the porch, a squirrel was sitting on Jesse's head; vulgar posters had erupted on bedroom walls; the insult niftam (the Amharic word for "snot") had led to fistfights; and four non-native-English-speaking teenage boys were researching, on Mom's computer, the subject of "saxing." "At first I thought one of our trombone players was considering a change of instrument," writes Greene. "Then I remembered: they can't spell." Using the tools of her trade, she uncovered the true subject of the "saxing" investigation, inspiring the chapter "Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex, but Couldn't Spell." A celebration of parenthood; an ingathering of children, through birth and out of loss and bereavement; a relishing of moments hilarious and enlightening--"No Biking in the House Without a Helmet" is a loving portrait of a unique twenty first-century family as it wobbles between disaster and joy.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11
Categories:

Author information

Melissa Fay Greene is the author of "Praying for Sheetrock," "The Temple Bombing," "Last Man Out," and "There Is No Me Without You." Two of her books have been finalists for the National Book Award, and New York University's journalism department named "Praying for Sheetrock" one of the top one hundred works of journalism in the twentieth century. She has written for "The New Yorker," "The Washington Post," "The New York Times Magazine," "Atlantic Monthly," "Good Housekeeping," "Newsweek," "Life," "Reader's Digest," "Redbook," and "Salon," among others. She and her husband, Don Samuel, have nine children and live in Atlanta.

Review quote

"Love knows no bounds--and no borders--in journalist Greene's ebullient valentine to her family of nine children . . . 'Who made "you" the Old Woman Who Lives in a Shoe?' a friend quips, but Greene doesn't apologize. Instead, she shows what it means to knit together a family that 'steers by the light . . . of what feels right and true.'" --Caroline Leavitt, "People "(four stars) "Readers . . . will find plenty of hilarity in this romping account of [Greene's] boisterous brood . . . [she] brings her well-honed research and reporting skills to this very personal story . . . this joy--experiencing it and conveying it to readers--is her greatest success." --Suki Casanave, "The Washington Post """No Biking in the House Without a Helmet "is [Melissa Fay Greene's] sprawling, imperfect, courageous and joyful account of the adoption process, warts and all--the heart-wrenching trips to orphanages, frustrating delays, visits with living relatives, and the way her family welcomed and made room for each child, as well as the inevitable homesickness and culture clashes and sometimes rocky emotional terrain . . . The moral of her story? Just the opposite of the title's warning. Don't be afraid to break the rules, to 'steer by the light of what makes us laugh, what makes us feel good'--especially if it means biking in the house, with or without a helmet. With deep compassion, sparkling humor and an unshakable faith in the power of the whoopee cushion, she leads the way." --Gina Webb, "Atlanta Journal-Constitution ""Moving, enlightening, and surprisingly funny ... "No Biking in the House Without a Helmet" ... folds an adoption primer into a meditation on family."" --"Sara Nelson," O, The Oprah Magazine ""Joyful and big-hearted . . . This funny and frankly personal book is a departure for Greene, whose previous work has been sober and measured. The title sounds like a madcap domestic comedy in the tradition of Jean Kerr and Erma Bombeck, which it somet