Never Seduce a Scot
13%
off

Never Seduce a Scot : The Montgomerys and Armstrongs

By (author) Maya Banks

US$7.99US$9.23

You save US$1.24

Free delivery worldwide

Available
Dispatched in 2 business days

When will my order arrive?

Maya Banks, the "New York Times" bestselling author of romance and romantic suspense has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. "Never Seduce a Scot" features a remarkable woman whose rare gift teaches a gruff Scottish warrior how to listen with his heart. Eveline Armstrong is fiercely loved and protected by her powerful clan, but outsiders consider her "touched." Beautiful, fey, with a level, intent gaze, she doesn't speak. No one, not even her family, knows that she cannot hear. Content with her life of seclusion, Eveline has taught herself to read lips and allows the outside world to view her as daft. But when an arranged marriage into a rival clan makes Graeme Montgomery her husband, Eveline accepts her duty"--"unprepared for the delights to come. Graeme is a rugged warrior with a voice so deep and powerful that his new bride can hear it, and hands and kisses so tender and skilled that he stirs her deepest passions. Graeme is intrigued by the mysterious Eveline, whose silent lips are ripe with temptation and whose bright, intelligent eyes can see into his soul. As intimacy deepens, he learns her secret. But when clan rivalries and dark deeds threaten the wife he has only begun to cherish, the Scottish warrior will move heaven and earth to save the woman who has awakened his heart to the beautiful song of a rare and magical love.

show more
  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 99.06 x 167.64 x 33.02mm | 249.47g
  • 24 Oct 2012
  • Random House USA Inc
  • Ballantine Books Inc.
  • New York
  • English
  • 0345533232
  • 9780345533234
  • 20,898

Other books in this category

Other people who viewed this bought:

Author Information

Maya Banks is the bestselling author of "In Bed with a Highlander, Seduction of a Highland Lass, Never Love a Highlander, The Darkest Hour, No Place to Run, Hidden Away, Sweet Possession, Sweet Temptation, Colter's Woman, "and "Colter's Lady." She lives in Texas with her husband, three children, and an assortment of pets.

show more

Customer reviews

Historical Romance with Fabulous Characters

Never Seduce a Scot is the first book in the Montgomerys & Armstrongs series by New York Times best-selling author Maya Banks. Eveline Armstrong and Graeme Montgomery are forced into marriage by King Alexander II of Scotland in an attempt to end the decades-long blood feud between their two families. Never Seduce a Scot came as a bit of a surprise to me. The title and cover scream "bodice-ripper", but in reality, it sits solidly in the historical romance genre. I was expecting to skim through quite a few sex scenes, but there were only two, and they were important to the progression of the novel and the character development of Graeme and Eveline. (Yes, there is some steaminess, but it's not the focal point of the novel.) It was very well done and well written. Never Seduce a Scot is the first novel that I've read by Maya Banks and, again, was nothing like I expected. The writing was gripping, and the characters were easy to connect with. I found myself not only attached to Eveline (who I adored) and Graeme, but also the pool of secondary characters. This sets up nicely for a series because I know that I'll enjoy getting to know each of the characters (though I may not want to imagine them sparking). I will say right now though that Rorie is awesome, and she should remain single. I will be displeased if her happiness depends upon lurve and a man. Back to Eveline - she is probably my favorite heroine that I've read this year. She had an accident three years before the start of the novel that left her deaf, but she pretends to be "daft" in order to escape marriage to the cruel Ian McHugh. Even though she spends years deceiving her family, she felt bad about it and always wanted to come clean. She also works really hard for the acceptance of the Montgomery clan, even though she was faced with meanness, hatred, and disdain at every turn. Graeme Montgomery is written to be a very intelligent man, and it was a bit surprising. He figured out quite a few things in the story that I figured would have me yelling at the characters about for most of the book. They were a good match, and I found myself pulling for them in a way that I have not done in ages. The one drawback of Never Seduce a Scot is the dialect. I found the over use of "tis", "lass", and other Scottish slang to be very jarring at first. As the novel went on, I paid less attention to it, but there were occasions that the book got the stink eye from me. All in all, Never Seduce a Scot was a very good book and not one to judge by the cover. There are some very fabulous characters, and it is a novel not to be missed. I look forward to reading and reviewing Highlander Most Wanted later this month. To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way affected the outcome. All opinions expressed are rambling, honest, and completely my own.show more
by Kayla Beck

Sexy Highlanders are a Must Read

Never Seduce a Scot by Maya Banks 5 Hockeystyxxx King Alexander II sent a decree to Lairds Armstrong and Montgomery that neither clan could ignore. There would be a wedding and his most valued supporters would have to put their hatred towards each other aside as they would join their families as soon as possible putting all their animosity in the past. Graeme Montgomery could not believe that his line would now end with him after the King had ordered him to take the daft woman to be his bride. What could come of a union with a woman who was sheltered because of her infirmary? Eveline Armstrong had lost her hearing after a fall escaping a wedding to a man who was adept at hiding his true self to even her own family. A man with two faces. The loving, caring 'husband to be' and nobleman to everyone else; and the torturing, vile, lecherous man to his bride. Losing the use of her voice was altogether another problem. What started out as her taking time to recuperate ended up as the only way out of a marriage from hell. At the Montgomery keep Eveline soon has an ally in her sister in law, Rorie. Her secret now in danger of being revealed she needs to find a way to tell her husband that she is not daft but scared of Ian McHugh and the life she needed to escape. Eveline finds her way into the hearts of the new clan but not before she slaves herself causing irreparable rifts between the Laird and the women of the castle. Realizing their mistake too late when she is betrayed and kidnapped and it will take a true truce and merging of the two enemies to defeat the kidnapper and save Eveline from the fate awaiting her. Maya Banks never disappoints. Picking up a thrilling contemporary, an erotic historical or a sexy highland escape that has Ms. Bank's name on the cover always delivers a story that will wrap you up in emotion, titillate your senses and have you scouring for more as soon as they book is back on the nightstand. Needless to say book hangovers are pretty much a given when I pick up her books and this one did not disappoint. Graeme and Eveline's story was all of what I said above and more. Eveline was a strong and brave heroine who had to find a way to survive, giving up a connection that she once shared with her family and with the horses she loved to protect herself from the threat that hung over her life. Graeme is a gruff and battle scarred warrior but he opens his heart to the woman he is forced to wed and soon finds himself captivated by the beauty that his silent but determined wife by his side. I hate to be cliché but I cannot wait for more highland tales from Ms. Banks and am positive that it will prove to be another delicious escape.show more
by Shell Bryce