The Music Documentary: Acid Rock to Electropop

The Music Documentary: Acid Rock to Electropop

Paperback Routledge Music and Screen Media

Edited by Benjamin Halligan, Edited by Robert Edgar, Edited by Kirsty Fairclough-Isaacs

List price $41.89
You save $5.62 13% off

Free delivery worldwide
Dispatched in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

  • Publisher: ROUTLEDGE
  • Format: Paperback | 264 pages
  • Dimensions: 150mm x 226mm x 15mm | 363g
  • Publication date: 24 April 2013
  • Publication City/Country: London
  • ISBN 10: 041552802X
  • ISBN 13: 9780415528023
  • Edition statement: Reprint
  • Illustrations note: 3 black & white tables, 73 black & white halftones, 3 black & white line drawings
  • Sales rank: 530,709

Product description

The Music Documentary offers a wide-range of approaches, across key moments in the history of popular music, in order to define and interrogate this prominent genre of film-making. The writers in this volume argue persuasively that the music documentary must be considered as an essential cultural artefact in documenting stars and icons, and musicians and their times - particularly for those figures whose fame was achieved posthumously. In this collection of fifteen essays, the reader will find comprehensive discussions of the history of music documentaries, insights in their production and promotion, close studies of documentaries relating to favourite bands or performers, and approaches to questions of music documentary and form, from the celluloid to the digital age.

Other people who viewed this bought:

Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

Other books in this category

Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

Author information

Robert Edgar is Head of the MA programmes in Film and Documentary at York St John University. Kirsty Fairclough-Isaacs is Lecturer in Media and Performance in the School of Media, Music and Performance at the University of Salford. Benjamin Halligan is the Director of Postgraduate Research Studies for the College of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Salford. Publications include Michael Reeves (2003) and Reverberations: The Philosophy, Aesthetics and Politics of Noise (2012).

Table of contents

Introduction: Music Seen: The Formats and Functions of the Music Documentary Part I: Evolutions of the Music Documentary Part II: Scenes from the Sixties Part III: Punk Cultures Part IV: "Mockumentaries" and "Rockumentaries" Part V: New Directions in the Music Documentary