• Mission Flats See large image

    Mission Flats (Paperback) By (author) William Landay

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $11.29 - Save $3.71 24% off - RRP $15.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 2 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    DescriptionBefore the "New York Times" bestselling success of "Defending Jacob, " William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense--perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane. "Landay writes with eloquent intensity."--"The New York Times Book Review" By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city's toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police--especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man--or let a guilty one go free--one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come. Includes an excerpt of "Defending Jacob" "A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?"--"Kirkus Reviews "(starred review) "An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review) "[Landay's] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment."--"Rocky Mountain News" "Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it."--Lee Child " " Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for Mission Flats

    Title
    Mission Flats
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) William Landay
    Physical properties
    Format: Paperback
    Number of pages: 383
    Width: 130 mm
    Height: 201 mm
    Thickness: 20 mm
    Weight: 295 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9780345539458
    ISBN 10: 0345539451
    Classifications

    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    BIC subject category V2: FF, FA
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    BIC subject category V2: FH
    DC22: FIC
    BIC E4L: CRI
    DC21: 813.6
    LC subject heading:
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F2.1
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Approval Code: P26303000
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 21200
    Ingram Subject Code: FM
    Libri: I-FM
    DC22: 813/.6
    Ingram Theme: CULT/NENGLD, GEOG/MASSCH
    BISAC V2.8: FIC025000
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 36
    LC subject heading: ,
    BISAC V2.8: FIC022020
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Theme: GEOG/MAINE
    LC subject heading:
    Ingram Theme: LOCL/MABOST
    BISAC V2.8: FIC031000, FIC030000
    LC classification: PS3612.A5477 M5 2012
    Edition statement
    Reprint
    Publisher
    Random House USA Inc
    Imprint name
    Random House Inc
    Publication date
    12 June 2012
    Publication City/Country
    New York
    Author Information
    William Landay is the author of the "New York Times "bestseller "Defending Jacob;""The Strangler, "a" Los Angeles Times" Favorite Crime Book of the Year; and "Mission Flats, "winner of the Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel and a Barry Award nominee. A former district attorney who holds degrees from Yale and Boston College Law School, Landay lives in Boston, where he is at work on his next novel of suspense.
    Review quote
    "Tough but true: a first-time novelist has to bring something new to the table--something like the trumps that William Landay throws down in his high-stakes police procedural, Mission Flats.... Landay writes with eloquent intensity ... about the no-win ethical choices that can corrupt or otherwise crush a good cop."--"The New York Times Book Review" "You'll get everything you paid for in William Landay's debut thriller, Mission Flats....Landay is a superb writer who can evoke visceral emotional reactions with skillful evocative prose."--"St. Petersburg Times " "Landay's story is rife with nuanced characters and the gritty realism of street justice. His tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment."--"Rocky Mountain News " "A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the new Grisham? ... Stylish writing, wickedly convoluted plotting, and an insider's view ... you'll barely finish this many-tentacled tale before you start clamoring form former ADA Landay's next." --"Kirkus Reviews, "starred review "Every assumption the reader makes turns into a landmine, which makes for an excruciatingly suspenseful thriller.... [Author] Landay gives us an original detective creation in the humorous, self-deprecating Truman, and he also delivers an action-packed plot with a skillfully detonated final surprise."--"Booklist, "starred review "[An] inventive, gripping, suspense debut.... Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player.... A rich, harrowing, and delightful read."--"Publishers Weekly, "starred review "Lyrical, keenly observed, and occasionally as dark as a wrong turn at midnight, Mission Flats is a harrowing, memorable debut by a writer to watch." -- "New York Times" bestselling author Stephen White "Mission Flats is a stunning debut, heralding the arrival of a major new voice in mystery fiction. Landay's action scenes are electric, his pro