• The Miniature Wife: And Other Stories See large image

    The Miniature Wife: And Other Stories (Hardback) By (author) Manuel Gonzales

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $21.41 - Save $5.54 20% off - RRP $26.95 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 6 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Paperback $11.90

    DescriptionIn the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena. The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales's exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In "The Artist's Voice" we meet one of the world's foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in "Pilot, Copilot, Writer." Sound can kill in "The Sounds of Early Morning." And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn't necessarily special--but it's often dangerous. In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, "The Miniature Wife "is an unforgettable debut.


Other books

Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 11 of 11

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
  • Full bibliographic data for The Miniature Wife

    Title
    The Miniature Wife
    Subtitle
    And Other Stories
    Authors and contributors
    By (author) Manuel Gonzales
    Physical properties
    Format: Hardback
    Number of pages: 304
    Width: 150 mm
    Height: 208 mm
    Thickness: 28 mm
    Weight: 340 g
    Language
    English
    ISBN
    ISBN 13: 9781594486043
    ISBN 10: 1594486042
    Classifications

    BIC E4L: GEN
    Nielsen BookScan Product Class 3: F1.1
    B&T Merchandise Category: GEN
    BIC E4L: SST
    BIC subject category V2: FA, FYB
    B&T General Subject: 360
    B&T Book Type: FI
    LC subject heading:
    DC22: FIC
    Warengruppen-Systematik des deutschen Buchhandels: 11110
    DC21: 813.6
    B&T Modifier: Region of Publication: 01
    B&T Modifier: Academic Level: 05
    Ingram Subject Code: FC
    Libri: I-FC
    B&T Modifier: Geographic Designator: 01
    DC22: 813/.6
    LC subject heading:
    B&T Modifier: Subject Development: 81
    B&T Approval Code: P26100000
    LC subject heading:
    BISAC V2.8: FIC029000, FIC019000
    LC classification: PS3607.O56227 M56 2013
    Ingram Theme: ASPT/DIXNAS
    Edition statement
    New ed.
    Publisher
    Riverhead Books
    Imprint name
    Riverhead Books
    Publication date
    10 January 2013
    Author Information
    Manuel Gonzales is a graduate of the Columbia University graduate creative writing program. He has published fiction and nonfiction in "Open City," "Fence," "One Story," "Esquire," "McSweeney's Quarterly Concern," and "The Believer." He lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and two children.
    Review quote
    "These stories are wrought with forceful clarity, Borgesian inventiveness and enchanting, devious wit--an unforgettable debut from a uniquely gifted writer." - Wells Tower, author of "Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned" "These are beautiful, strange truths--mad, weird, funny and unforgettable. Manuel Gonzales possesses a brand new American literary voice. This is vital work from an exciting new writer." --Ben Marcus, author of "The Flame Alphabet" "This book has everything you could ask for in a collection, and even things you hadn't thought to ask for, but secretly wanted: unicorns, mobsters, swamp monsters and werewolves. Manuel Gonzales weaves the supernatural into the lives of everyday citizens, from anthropologists to airline passengers, and the result is pure magic mixed with humor and deep humanity." -Hannah Tinti, author of "The Good Thief" "You know that feeling you get when you pick up a book and realize you are hearing a voice you have never heard before but will be hearing for a long time? I had that feeling on page 5. Please pick up this book - you will have that feeling. Dark, smart and strange in a way that initially had me grasping for comparison but that ultimately revealed itself to be something new." --Charles Yu, author of "How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe" "Manuel Gonzales's "The Miniature Wife "is a marvel--a beautiful, hilarious and moving reinvention of the gothic, a testimony to the sublime powers of the imagination and language. This a book of extraordinary joy, compassion, horror and grace all rolled into one." --Dinaw Mengestu, author of "How to Read the Air "and "The Beautiful Things that Heaven Bears" "It's easy to compare Manuel Gonzales to George Saunders, but it would be just as easy to compare him to Borges or Marquez or Aimee Bender...He makes the extraordinary ordinary, and his playfulness is infectious." --Benjamin Percy, "Esquire " "Exce