By (author) , Read by


Free delivery worldwide

Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day

When will my order arrive?


One of the great works of 19th-century England as well as one of the masterpieces of English fiction, this novel is set in the Midlands, 1830-32, in the fictitious town of Middlemarch. It is concerned with the blighted marriage of a young idealistic woman, but also presents a vivid portrait of England during the Georgian era. A film adaptation of the novel, directed by Sam Mendes and with screenplay by Andrew Davies, is due to be released in 2011. Middlemarch was listed in 'The 10 Greatest Books of All Time', The Top Ten (ed. J. Peder Zane, W.W. Norton & Company). This release presents a captivating insight into contemporary developments: medical science, the Great Reform Bill, the beginnings of the railways, the death of King George IV and the succession of his brother King William IV.

show more

Product details

  • CD-Audio | 28 pages
  • 136 x 166 x 58mm | 639.56g
  • Welwyn, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Unabridged
  • Unabridged
  • 184379439X
  • 9781843794394
  • 383,146