• The Maze Runner See large image

    The Maze Runner (Maze Runner Trilogy) (Paperback) By (author) James Dashner

    04

    Hard to find title available from Book Depository

    $8.19 - Save $1.81 18% off - RRP $10.00 Free delivery worldwide Available
    Dispatched in 6 business days
    When will my order arrive?
    Add to basket | Add to wishlist |

    Also available in...
    Hardback $14.53
    CD-Audio $26.40

    DescriptionRead the first book in the #1 "New York Times" bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Divergent." "The Maze Runner" is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV's "Teen Wolf," Dylan O'Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster! Also look for James Dashner's newest novels, " The Eye of Minds" and "The Rule of Thoughts," the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series. "If you ain't scared, you ain't human." When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He's surrounded by strangers--boys whose memories are also gone. "Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade." Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It's the only way out--and no one's ever made it through alive. "Everything is going to change." Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying. Remember. Survive. Run. Praise for the Maze Runner series: "[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of "Lord of the Flies," "The Hunger Games," and "Lost.""--EW.com "Wonderful action writing--fast-paced...but smart and well observed."--"Newsday" "[A] nail-biting must-read."--Seventeen.com "Breathless, cinematic action."--"Publishers Weekly" "Heart-pounding to the very last moment."--"Kirkus Reviews" "Exclamation-worthy."--"Romantic Times" [STAR] "James Dashner's illuminating prequel ["The Kill Order"] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."--"Shelf Awareness," Starred "From the Hardcover edition."


Other books

Other people who viewed this bought | Other books in this category
Showing items 1 to 10 of 10

 

Reviews | Bibliographic data
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 results

Reviews for The Maze Runner

Write a review
  • Top review

    Loved it!5

    Giselle SM Thomas is a likable character. Head strong and smart to the point of having his older peers recognize him as their equal, I liked that he was always true to himself and truly wanted to help others as well as himself solve the puzzle that was the maze.

    The terror these boys and girl had felt real. Their struggles and the community they built was admirable. Order is definitely something one must have in order to maintain a sense of peace. I love how each boy had a job to do handled by their keepers. Did I mention the new slang words that James whipped up? I�??�?�¢??m guessing shanks aren�??�?�¢??t all that positive to start with. Each character had a way of talking and that truly shows their I individual personalities as well.

    I quite enjoyed this adventurous dystopian tale where teens are tested once again to survive. The writing was fluid, always giving you something more in each and every chapter. I loved the mystery and suspense that Mr. Dashner concocted in his Maze Runner world. The world building is flawless and I can�??�?�¢??t wait to read more! by Giselle SM

  • The Maze Runner3

    Laura Oh well, this book was actually really good. I was sure I was going to detest it so I´m actually very surprised of how The Maze Runner surprised me.

    I find TMR plot really interesting, I don´t know if that makes me a bad person, but the whole idea of sending this kids to this unknown place with only a name as a memory is really intriguing.

    I really don´t want to spoil the book, the blurb says pretty much all that happens at first. Of course there is a big development of characters and you get to know all these boys -Gladers- little by little.

    There are so many questions, what is their purpose? what is the Maze about? why does Thomas feel the way he feels? how does the maze work? I loved the fact that the reader can feel how Thomas is feeling, I mean, he was lost and there weren´t a lot of answers to his question about this place. He was sad, mad, and frustrated. And I was feeling that way too.

    And there is so much slang! at first I had trouble getting used to all the words but it is definitely part of the experience.

    I liked the characters, there are definitely one or two I hated but Minho, Newt by Laura

  • One of the best dystopian books I have read4

    Jessica Gibbins This book has sci-fi, dystopian, and post-apocalyptic elements in it, I mean what more could you ask for?

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. There is so much suspense and questions that constantly arise that keep you engrossed in the book and it was so hard for me to put this book down while reading.

    Although the writing style of the book annoyed me a little bit, I really enjoyed this book a lot more than other dystopian books. I really liked how in The Glade they had their own words for different things and it was really fun learning their language. The challenges that the man character has to go through and the world that he is currently in really makes you feel for and root for him. The character development and relationships between the characters was done really well and I even found myself crying near the end of the book. I am really excited for and cannot wait to read the rest of the series.

    I recommend this book to anyone who likes dystopian books and is looking for a different and unique one for all the ones that are currently out. by Jessica Gibbins

  • Maze Runner Rave4

    Audrey I ordered this trilogy of books all at once and I recommend that if you get sucked into stories quickly, you do the same too. The Maze Runner was a bit of a slow starter, but if you get into it, it's hard to put down. His other two books in the trilogy were AMAZING too!! Very clever and inventive, like nothing I've read before. by Audrey

  • Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com4

    TeensReadToo Thomas is brought up to the Glade in an elevator with only his name and no memory at all. He finds himself with a group of boys like himself. They all have no memory of an outside world. All they know is that there is a maze and they will try to find a way out -but every night the doors to the maze will shut.

    The day after Thomas arrives, a girl, the first ever in the Glade, arrives with a note that she is the last. Thomas is determined to figure out what is happening in the Glade and unlock the secrets that are buried.

    THE MAZE RUNNER is the start to a thrilling new trilogy. If you are a fan of dystopian science fiction, then this title needs to be added to your must-read pile.

    Author James Dashner has a brilliant start to the book; the Gladers use different slang, which takes some time to get used to. However, this leaves the reader feeling just as jarred as Thomas when the book starts and you find yourself learning about the Glade right along with the main character. I've never really had that experience with a book before, so kudos to Mr. Dashner for a brilliant storytelling device.

    The story has somewhat of a slow start, but readers who stick with it will be rewarded. I'm warning you - there are lots of cliffhangers and heart-stopping adventure, and you'll want to stay up late turning pages to find out what happens next. by TeensReadToo

Write a review
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 results